We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bank holiday family break august 2014” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawkshead Hall Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkshead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawkshead Hall Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“bank holiday family break august 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

website was helpful when looking for a campsite near Coniston, booking was easy and price was reasonable. We arrived mid afternoon on the friday before august bank holiday the campsite was tidy and attractive and not at all packed some of the site was hilly but there was plenty of space to pick your site without feeling cramped. staff were friendly and professional and facilities were clean and practical. the toilets were lovely and always clean and warm, the showers were hot but the water pressure was low. the campsite was easy to find and was close to lots of local attractions, walking distance to hawshead and tarn hows and really close to Coniston and Grizdale Forest

Room Tip: arrive early to guarantee a good pitch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    17
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Rasen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Had a good mix here of motorhomes, camper vans, caravans and tents - so a good mix of campers also. Think it is the nature of the site that attracts this combination. Quite a few hook ups and plenty of tent space. Plus it is in the middle of the great outdoors - attracting the more active type of camper.
The site is surrounded by footpaths heading in all directions - including direct to Hawkshead and its fine collection of pubs and shops.
Lovely bathrooms - but regrettably the slabbed floor is always covered in the slate grit walked in from the site - slate chippings being what the tracks and hard standings are made of.
Notwithstanding, we will definately be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackOfTheGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely wash facilities, including a baby changing table. A large field so very spacious and you don't feel like you are camping on top of each other. A short walk to hawkshead or a little drive to Ambleside.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Morris1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a weeks camping here. Lovely location on a working farm which is close enough to the village to walk there along a streamed path for 10 minutes and far enough away from noise and traffic. Best shower and toilet facilities we have had camping, worthy of a hotel. Plenty of space and chilled out atmosphere. Only had one evening when it was a bit noisy after 11. Good location for exploring the lakes.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank motherbear0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just spent 2 nights at this site so we could attend the Great North Swim in Ambleside. The location was ideal, the staff were friendly and helpful. We opted for the Hook up and were given a huge slot near the entrance. The shower block was very clean and inviting. Easy walking distance to the Town for food and shops. All in all a nice little site

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank INorfolkred2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed at the campsite for two nights at the start of May. My wife booked the campsite much earlier on in the year as it was the bank holiday weekend. The owner was very unfriendly over the phone - surprising as we paid a deposit and were unable to book less than three nights. Friends of ours who were also planning on booking for the weekend there were so put off with the hostile reception over the phone that they went elsewhere - the nearby National trust campsite.

Very cramped, limited camping space on flat ground, and barely warm water in the showers.

Very disappointing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PoppySnowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights beginning of July and again at the end of August.
You can pitch anywhere and choose what area you like. Toliet and shower area is very clean and just been updated. Also has a washing up area and clean water avaible. Nice a quite area only a five minute walk to the local village where there is a pub and shop. Dogs are welcome too although need to be kept on the lead. Good price per night too and very friendly owners.
Only fault is its on an old quarry site and therefore hard to get you tent pegs into the ground. We had a metal tent hammer and still struggled plus bent a few pegs.
We would defo stay again and recommend to anyone. It's not too far from Ambleside dock either where you can get ferry to Bowness across lake Windermere.

Room Tip: Only tip is take a decent hammer for tent pegs and have a few spares incase they bend in the hard gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbettyboo314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawkshead hotels
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#10 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ann Tysons House
Ann Tysons House
#14 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.9 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old School House
The Old School House
#7 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkshead Hall Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkshead Hall Campsite

Property: Hawkshead Hall Campsite
Address: Hawkshead | Nr Ambleside, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 ONN , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawkshead Hall Campsite 3*
Also Known As:
Hawkshead Hall Campsite Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing