We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant stay with the most welcoming hosts Steve & Sharon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
School House Cottage
Ranked #12 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant stay with the most welcoming hosts Steve & Sharon”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Went to Hawkshead for 1 night early November as a last miniute trip away and luckily found The School House Cottage. Steve had been great in responding to me quickly by email to confirm availability, directions and kindly allowed us to park on his driveway.

As soon as we arived Steve and Sharon made us both a coffee and homemade chocolate cake, which was lovely, and chatted for half an hour making us feel very welcome and at home in their lovely home.

Had a great evening pub crawl in Hawkshead and good food in the Queens Head. Was home early with a bottle of fizz and Steve & Sharon were on their way out as we were coming in, so Steve brought us 2 champagne glasses and put X Factor on in the living room. We were living the dream!

Breakfast was absolutely fantastic with Steve taking our breakfast order the night before. First Class breakfast.

The only thing we would have preferred would have been a little more space in our room, as we had the cosy room which I presume is the smallest of the 3. The ensuite bathroom was within touching distance of the bed, which was a bit too close for comfort. Didn't see the other rooms but presume they had more space. Having said that we are still looking forward to our next stay at the School House Cottage as the hosts are faultless and the property and breakfast lovely.

Great stay in a perfect location in Hawkshead.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaed32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Thank you Steve & Sharon for a fantastic weekend at School House Cottage. Only complaint i have is that i have probably piled on a few pounds due to the scrumptious chocolate cake and the marvelous breakfasts we had. Your house is a credit to you both, thank you for allowing us to share it with you and for making us feel so welcome. We look forward to returning in the not to distant future. Reggie, Sharon, Chris & Ruth

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Didn't want to write this review as I don't want people to find it.....but here goes, a true hidden gem in the beautliful village of Hawkshead a little oasis in this peaceful and tranquil village, excellent hosts, lovely clean and comfortable rooms and fabulous breakasts that set you up for the day!!! Oh and afternoon tea and homemade cakes in the afternoon on the patio if it's sunny of course!!! Could have stayed there forever, we will be back Steve, sooner rather than later, thanks again for a lovely chilled out couple of days Keith and Helen. (from Boro)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Took a gamble and booked online from Oz - not disappointed! My partner, my mother in law and I were made to feel very welcome during our three-day stay, the rooms were cosy and bright and the complimentary afternoon tea and cake was an added bonus. The B & B and Hawkshead are ideal for exploring the local area and ideal to retreat to after visiting some of the busier centres.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asantasana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

What can I say I dont know If I want to tell you about this place, (A HIDDEN GEM) Once you have been you will go back again. Steve and Sharon the best hostesses, Brilliant breakfasts great choice, and if you stay for Evening meal you will not be dissapointed, good home cooked food. Tea and homemade cake offered on arrival, and after your day out well do you want a cup of tea and piece of cake Steve asks. Excellent clean place for value and comfort. All I can say WE WILL BE BACK. Thanks Christine & Larry

Room Tip: Both rooms 1 and 2 are very good overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Well, here we are again. Same place every time. Why go elsewhere. Very friendly hosts in a lovely cottage B & B. They will do just about anything to make your stay just right. Steve and Sharon helped me with my birthday surprise for my girlfriend. They hid some presents for me then presented them at breakfast on the morning of her birthday as well as bringing in a surpise cake after we had our dinner the night before. Good setting, lovely rooms, great people. There you have it. Oh, cant wait to see the new Summer house that they have planned. I suppose we will have to go again and have a look.
Ray & Julie

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montrose
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We met up with friends at the School House Cottage for a 3 night break. We arrived in the afternoon to be greeted by Mavis and Steve. After being shown our rooms - absolutely fabulous, we were invited to have cake and coffee/tea in the garden. Nothing but the best, a selection of 3 freshly baked cakes - yum, yum. We were given a list of breakfast selections and told that if there was additional items not on the list Steve would try to get them PLUS what time do you want your breakfast : where have you had this kind of service. The rooms and garden are great. The next morning starters, cereal and fruit followed by cooked breakfast etc etc. Steve and Mavis came and had a chat with us - what a great family atmosphere. One day we decided to go for a walk : Steve had already shown us on a map the way but as the grass etc was wet he came with us to show us a drier route. On our last day Sharon baked a strawberry gateau for afternoon tea - what more can I say. I can thoroughly recomend this accomodation, don't miss the opportunity to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddieMontrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawkshead hotels
0.0 mi away
The Old School House
The Old School House
#8 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ann Tysons House
Ann Tysons House
#13 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School House Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Cottage

Property: School House Cottage
Address: School House Cottage Main Street | Hawkshead, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the picturesque Lake District village of Hawkshead,School House Cottage offer you luxury bed and breakfast in a tranquil setting. With a warm and friendly welcome and to help ensure your break is a relaxing one. We offer Evening meal service on request. Menus are in all rooms to peruse through. If you are arriving late and require a meal, please let us know when booking. We offer a silver service afternoon tea for family celebrations(Birthday's/Anniversarys and specdial occasions we can include flowers, Champagne and chocolates of your choice at additional cost.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your School House Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
School House Cottage Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing