We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Cafe”
Review of Poppi Red

Poppi Red
Ranked #1 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Hawkshead
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Interesting Cafe”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Cafe has tables inside and out. We visited on a Monday when it was quiet although we have been there on a Saturday when it can get cramped, this is due to the cafe doubling as a gift shop. The food is good with generous portions and the staff are friendly. There are some interesting gifts and fashions available to buy - the dress decorated with lobsters springs to mind.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chtraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    137
    33
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad attitude”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Slow service and poor attitude. Made to feel that being to busy and short staffed was our fault. Very expensive and not particularly exciting food, wont recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Shaun N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Owner at Poppi Red, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
You are completely correct, we had a terrible day here at Poppi Red. It was very stressful day and we struggled to keep up. We can only apologies. We hope you still had a nice experience in the Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riding Mill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A 40 minute wait for expensive non homemade soup and a sandwich”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Poor customer service- they made you feel wrong for asking how long the food would be, the soup was certainly not home made and was not very nice, and overall, very expensive - almost £40 for 3 soup and sandwiches, one ham roll and one coffee!!! Would not recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Owner at Poppi Red, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
After reading your report I'm so sorry for the awful experience you had at Poppi Red, and it was an awful experience. The reason for this was we were two members of staff down, which was not your problem but ours and we were very stressed at the time. Again we are very sorry for this. We are sorry but you were overcharged, we misunderstood your order. We hope you enjoyed your time in the Lakes regardless of your bad experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

There're only a few tables inside and out but the food is good and a nice relaxed atmosphere. Been here a few times over last few years and never disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluegarland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Easter Monday at Poppi Red”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Called in for a light lunch after walking down from Tarn Hows on Easter Monday.

Sat outside in Spring sunshine watching the passing scene – lovely!

Nice coffee, cakes and scones, reasonable prices, served promptly with a smile

What more could you ask for.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poppi Red also viewed

 
Hawkshead, Ambleside
Hawkshead, Ambleside
 

Been to Poppi Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing