We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely cake and good coffee”
Review of Poppi Red

Poppi Red
Ranked #1 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Hawkshead
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“lovely cake and good coffee”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

reasonable prices and a lovely patio area to sit and watch people go about their business in Hawkshead. It also has a good selection of gifts and cards for sale along with Cath Kidtson goodies.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    141
    34
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

After a wet wander round the village we opted for Poppi Reds. I'm a complete fusspot when it comes to cafe grub having worked in my fair share of coffee shops/delis. Honestly couldn't fault the food... Wonderful teacake, cheese and salad... Querky glass for my sister's lemonade...the chocolate cake was one of the best I've had. Well done :)

Helpful?
1 Thank KerstiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“My favourite gift shop and coffee shop of the holiday”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The most delicious, flavoursome teacake ever! I asked for a weak Cappuccino, so I was served piping hot, frothy milk in a large mug with a separate little jug of filtered coffee, so I could add it to my liking. And they even had sweeteners. I must have spent an hour in the shop, which is vast - and full to the brim of reasonably priced vintage-style, feminine gifts, household items and wedding favours as well as some lovely (again, very well priced) handbags, dresses and tunics. Loved this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ch0ccie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Sorry to say the coffee was not up to much while the victoria sponge cake was dry and missing any jam. It did have a lot of butter icing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Elevenses AND lunch!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Called into Poppi Red for both elevenses and lunch today whilst visiting Hawkshead for the Beatrix Potter attractions. On both occasions we found the service to be prompt, friendly and professional. Our cake at elevenses and lunch were both very tasty with good portion size and although a little on the pricey side, this is probably related to the vicinity rather than the individual tea room. Would recommend and use again in the future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poppi Red also viewed

 
Hawkshead, Ambleside
Hawkshead, Ambleside
 

Been to Poppi Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing