We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”
Review of Ivy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ivy Guest House
Ranked #2 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

First visit to Hawkshead and not our last after the welcome we received. The hosts Ros and Darren were perfect nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was beautiful complete with a four poster bed that you will have trouble getting out of its that comfortable.The bathroom was spotless as was the rest of the room with plenty of storage space to put your things. The hearty breakfast was absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection by Darren. The Ivy is ideally positioned to visit lots of places around the lakes but is situated so that you are able to go back to base and relax. This is a must visit place when you next book to go to the Lake district - Book now you wont be disappointed !
Michael & Cheryl

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    29
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
50
136
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Just returned from a lovely 2 night stay at the Ivy. A very comfortable and clean bed and an awesome breakfast with everything you need for an enjoyable stay. Roz and Darren make great hosts and Roz does a great job as an unpaid tour guide! Full of useful information and facts about the surroundings. Would have no reservations recommending this B&B and would gladly return again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2011

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed into the guesthouse.We stayed in room 5 which had a four poster bed and everything your needed for a comfortable stay, including some lovley finishing touches. Both the room and th bathroom were spotless. The only thing we could fault was the lack of shower, however, we did enjoy having a bath after a walk during the day. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice - it set us up for the day. Nothing was too much trouble for Darren, Roz or Darrens Mum throughout our four nights stay. They work really hard keeping the house clean and welcoming. Darren was very knowledgable about the local area and recomended many amazing places to visit. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2011

trust me, if your looking for good, value for money accomodation on either a mid-week break or a long weekend get yourself booked into here, the warm welcome, customer service, central location for both Hawkshead (on-site free parking) and the lakes (4x Good Pubs with 100 yards) and quality of the rooms this place now it's under new management wont stay a secret for long.

Darren, Ros and Darren's Mum go the extra mile to make sure your stay is as enjoyable and memorable as possible. Nothing is too much trouble, they accept pets by prior arragement and we will certainly be back, subject to availability that is !

Room Tip: Only 2x Rooms of the 6 are available for Pets, so if you are taking the dog (or cat) make sure you l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norTHEndh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The guest house (now called Ivy Guest House) is in the perfect location for a stay in the Lakes. Walking distance to pubs and restaurants in the evening and close to the Langdales for beautiful scenery and walks. The breakfast is lovely with plenty of choice but finishes quite early (9am) for those who fancy a bit of a lie in at the weekend! The ensuite rooms are beautifully presented and spotlessly clean with some lovely homely touches. Darren and Roz are both very welcoming and helpful and work hard to make sure their guest have a comfortable stay. I highly recommend this guest house and will definitely be back for a longer stay some time in the future.

Room Tip: Ring ahead to request a room with a shower if you prefer one as some rooms only have baths and hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacAlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Very warm welcome, room very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent Darren and Roz couldn't be more helpful and freindly. We had a lovely peaceful and relaxing 2 days can't wait to go back. Caroline and Brian

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle,UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This place is now called 'Ivy Guest House' and was re-opened in June this year (2011) after a significant face-lift and new owners.
From booking to leaving, the place was spot on. Roz and Darren are the perfect hosts. The building is stunning, the staircase beautiful, the food scrumptious and the rooms very, very comfortable.
A very warm and friendly welcome awaits you. It is by far one of the best BnB's we have ever stayed in. You will not be disappointed. We were sad to leave! I can't praise this place enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryNewcastle_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
1.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#10 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.9 mi away
Buckle Yeat Guest House
Buckle Yeat Guest House
#3 of 5 in Near Sawrey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old School House
The Old School House
#8 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Guest House

Property: Ivy Guest House
Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ivy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Hawkshead
Ivy Guest House Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing