We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School House
Ranked #7 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed overnight at the old schoolhouse last Friday and I must say what a fantastic night it was. Sarah and David made us feel very welcome and spoiled us with coffee and homemade cakes and biscuits as soon as we arrived which was much appreciated. We discussed old family connections with the place and found it very interesting from both sides. Very clean and comfortable rooms. We would recommend the old schoolhouse to anyone. It surely is a joy to stay there and must be one of the best B + B in the land. Thanks again till the next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punkpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Many thanks for taking the trouble to post this comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and plan to return. We were thrilled to have some information from you about a previous occupant of The Old School House and it has spurred us on to try to piece together a history of this lovely house. If only the walls could talk.....!
Thankfully, the house now has more modern amenities than when your grandmother lived here and we are trying to modernise, without spoiling the history of this beautiful B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at the old schoolhouse in July as we were going to a party locally. The house itself is lovely and the hosts Sarah and David and very attentive and friendly. We had coffee and home made cakes on arrival which were lovely. The rooms are beautifully presented and beds very comfortable. There are now televisions in each room which is good and also a large tv in the communal living room. Breakfast was good quality and very tasty. We would definately stay again and would recommend to others. Another good find is the Sun cafe on the main street for lovely food and amazing cakes.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsoldatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and it was a convenient location for you to combine the party with relaxation in our B&B. We look froward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a last minute booking due to the adverse weather conditions that hit the UK (we were meant to be camping!). We emailed a few places beforehand who didn't even bother to reply however Sarah replied within 5 minutes of receiving our email, hence she received our business!

Upon arriving we left the car on the on site car park and had a look round Hawkeshead. The owners had kindly allowed us to park up before checking in to avoid parking charges which was really nice of them.

Upon checking in we were greeted by David who straight away offered to take our coats and pop the kettle on! You were a mind reader! : ) We were treated to a lovely pot of tea and selection of yummy cakes for no extra charge. All seemed to be home-made or at least locally sourced. Very much in keeping with our ethos and morals. We also offered to pay upfront for the room but David was more than happy to receive payment on our departure.

We were shown to our room and upon settling in checked out what it had to offer. The room was nice and clean, which a small but functional bathroom, and well-stocked tea/coffee facilities including home made biscuits and hot chocolate! The room also had a suitcase rack, hot water bottle, and blankets for use in the cold weather. The only downsides were that there was no TV in the room and plug sockets were minimal. As we understand the nature of Hawkeshead and it's attraction to fell walkers we understand that most travellers use BnBs solely for sleeping as they want to 'get away' from the hustle and bustle of daily life. It's worth noting that there is a communal TV lounge downstairs which is great for getting to know other guests. We found this really nice as we ended up chatting to a couple from London, however in the evening a family were using the room and we felt that if we joined them we would be disturbing their family time. Tourists may find this an inconvenience as they may prefer a bit of privacy.

Upon leaving the following morning Sarah asked us what we were doing that day and gave us tips on places to visit.

All in all, a great BnB and good value for money! We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you for taking time to review The Old School House. The down side of the poor weather for you was an upside for us as we enjoyed your company and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Since your visit we have put televisions in all the rooms. Installing more plug sockets in the rooms is on our 'to do list'. Please visit us again and check out the improvements we are doing on a regular basis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed as an extended family (pretty much taking over the place), visiting Hawkshead for our son's wedding. Sarah and David could not have been more welcoming and we had a really enjoyable stay, which made the weekend celebrations even sweeter. We all felt really at home and were invited to treat the Old Schoolhouse as such.

The rooms were great, and breakfast around the dining room table was especially memorable. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments. We always think that the house lends itself perfectlyto family gatherings where the whole house is taken over by a group. Your comments confirm this. We are pelased that the wedding went so well and our accomodation lived up to your expectations. We would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Hi David, Sarah. i know it's been a while since i stayed with you, have just found the page on facebook, i would just like to Thank you both not just for not just having us, but for your excellent hospitality and friendliness too. The school house is a lovely place to stay, the room i had was very homely and the breakfast was top notch. All in all a great weekend and would definitely come and stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Robinson31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased you had a good time and would love to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The Old School House is a lovely place to stay. David and Sarah make you feel very welcome. Although our break was the first week in June, some of the days we came back very wet, but there was a nice warm fire, cup of tea and cake waiting to take the chill off. The breakfasts were excellent. The room was very comfortable. Paul and I would like to thank David and Sarah for making our anniversary enjoyable.
Best wishes to you both from Paul and Sue, Gosport, Hampshire

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that your anniversary was memorable for all the right reasons. Please visit us again! Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

George and I arrived without a booking. We were made so welcome by David and Sarah . Lovely room and so relaxing . Nothing was too much trouble for these hosts . Beware when David recommends a local easy walk .... he must have been in the SAS !! However we did enjoy the "stroll" and beautiful scenery , Thank you both so much and every success with this venture . Warm wishes from Glenys and George , Perth Western Ausralia

Room Tip: Ensure double with en suite as some have bathrooms elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. In future we will be more careful about recommendations about walks to ensure our guests are clear about the distance and expectations!! Glad you reached home safely and we would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawkshead hotels
1.2 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
345 reviews
0.0 mi away
School House Cottage
School House Cottage
#12 of 23 in Hawkshead
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School House

Address: Old School House Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range: £88 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old School House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic property within 2 minutes walk of the centre of Hawkshead. The house was the former home of Wordsworth's head master and retains many original features. The back of the house dates from the Tudor period. Come and stay in this historic house which has been lovinngly renovated to ensure our guests have all the comforts of the 21st century.Beautiful garden, parking, a secure garage for cycles, free wi-fi. Complimentary afternoon tea and cake. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old School House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School House Hotel Hawkshead
The Old School House Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing