We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old School House
Nearby Hotels
Waterhead Hotel(Coniston)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$398
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$360
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
121
13
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
13
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary drinkshome from homeon arrivalfree parking on sitefresh fruit yogurtlovely gestureamazing homeliving roomwalking holidayseparate loungewould highly recommend staying hereresidents loungebreakfast was excellentgreat hostswonderful weekendan ideal placegorgeous village
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We were fortunate to book 2 rooms for a couple of nights this fall at this lovely B&B. David and Sarah made us feel right at home. They served us a wonderful breakfast - at a time that we wanted it served!. We have never experienced this at a B&B before. This is great when you are on holiday and don't necessarily want to get up at 7:30 to make an 8:00am breakfast! The rooms were clean and had all the amenities and the beds was comfortable. There was port and sherry waiting for you at the end of a busy day site seeing - nice. You will not be disappointed with David and Sarah's hospitality and the fact that you are right in the village makes the location very convenient. You can walk to everything.

Room Tip: We were traveling with our Daughter and Son-in-law and we were in Wordsworth and Ruskin. Both rooms were well equiped and spacious.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

So pleased you all enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

As other reviewers have said, this place is a fabulous find. Right in the centre of the gorgeous village of Hawkshead, the Old School House is welcoming and comfortable, and Sarah and David couldn't have made us feel more at home. Tea and scones on arrival was a lovely treat, and pre-dinner port in the cosy living room was a definite bonus. Everything we could have needed was provided, and the owners were helpful and accommodating. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay and have booked to stay again within the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed at The Old Schoolhouse on a Saturday with two friends. We were made to feel very welcome by Sarah and David. Macey the black labrador was also very friendly and welcoming.Little touches like tea,coffe,scones and cake on arrival were very nice. There was even a tray of port and sherry in the lounge for guests if they wanted a pre dinner drink. The rooms were spotless and the place is full of character. We needed a taxi for that evening and David offered to arrange that for us.Breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked to order. We would definitely recommend this as the place to stay in Hawkshead. Our friends felt the same and we all plan to return.

John and Elaine
Thornton

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Old School House B&B the owners David and Sarah made us so welcome, when we arrived we were greeted with a nice cup of tea homemade cakes and a friendly smile, Sarah and David couldn't do enough for you to make your stay a pleasant one and the house is spotless and the all English breakfast set's you up for the day, the house has so much character and the rooms still have the old windows and fireplace it's really homely, we will be going back to Hawkshead it's a lovely place and we wouldn't stay anywhere else but the old school house and look forward to seeing Sarah and David again.

Barry&Jackie

Manchester

Room Tip: They don't have a bad one!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our B&B suited your needs. We have tried to blend the old features of the house with the modern conveniences of the 21st century. Thank you also for putting us on your company website. Let's hope your wedding customers come to the Lakes for their celebration! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed there Friday and Saturday night of the August Bank Holiday weekend and we must say it was excellent. Tea and cakes on arrival was a very welcome touch. Breakfast is cooked freshly for each guest and the use of the linen room to dry out our walking gear was a great bonus. Sarah and David deserve to do well in their venture as nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. We look forward to using them again the next time we stay in the Lake District. Stephen & Christine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thank you for taking time to place this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the mountain walks. Sorry you needed to use the drying room but it was typical bank holiday weather on one of the days and our drying room just fit the bill for you! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews