We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base for the Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old School House
Ranked #6 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My 12 year old son and I stayed at The old School House in Hawkshead for four nights. We are regular walkers and stay in different parts of the UK to go mountain trekking every year. The Old School House is ,without doubt, the best B&B we have stayed in over the last four years. Not only is the accommodation excellent, the welcome, care and approach of Sarah and David the owners is fantastic. The quality and quantity of breakfast (I am a veggie) is really high, as is the number of cakes and cusps of tea provided by David whenever we returned from a day out.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wagparts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

So pleased you both enjoyed our B&B and that it was a good base for your walking excursions and 'Go Ape' activity in the forest. We hope to see you again so that you can continue your walks and climbing outings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

Yet another visit to one of our favourite guest houses.As always Sarah and David made us most welcome as did Masie and new arrival Barney(Labradors) Standard of all rooms,food etc.maintain the usual very high level.Breakfasts are always cooked to order plus excellent choice of cereals.The tea or coffee supplied in late afternoon with lovely cakes or biscuits is always most welcome.We would recommend this establishment to anyone and in fact we have already booked again for 2014.Another big advantage is having parking facilities in comparison to many other Hawkshead hotels etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfaro51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your review. It is encouraging to have regular visitors and we enjoyed meeting you for the third time! Thank you for your emphasis on the parking available at The Old School House. Visitors always feel they benefit from having parking so close to the village without paying the charges! See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Just back from a wonderful weekend at the old school house , hosts Sarah and David made are stay wonderful nothing was to much trouble we had the Wordsworth room ,it was warm and very comfortable we enjoyed the wine and food on our first night. The room was extremely clean with tea and coffee supplied, the decor was very modern and topped off with a wonderful Cumbrian breakfast all locally supplied. Hope to return very soon, many thanks to Sarah and David you have got it just right

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcl186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. It was good to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A beautifully appointed house. Interesting building with well furnished guest rooms, lounge and dining room. Ideal location near centre of village of Hawkshead. Owners thoughtful and friendly. Breakfast cooked to order at a time to suit us. Would certainly recommend to others. Enjoy your stay, we did.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy14_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. It is a great encouragement to us. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We were fortunate to book 2 rooms for a couple of nights this fall at this lovely B&B. David and Sarah made us feel right at home. They served us a wonderful breakfast - at a time that we wanted it served!. We have never experienced this at a B&B before. This is great when you are on holiday and don't necessarily want to get up at 7:30 to make an 8:00am breakfast! The rooms were clean and had all the amenities and the beds was comfortable. There was port and sherry waiting for you at the end of a busy day site seeing - nice. You will not be disappointed with David and Sarah's hospitality and the fact that you are right in the village makes the location very convenient. You can walk to everything.

Room Tip: We were traveling with our Daughter and Son-in-law and we were in Wordsworth and Ruskin. Both rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

So pleased you all enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

As other reviewers have said, this place is a fabulous find. Right in the centre of the gorgeous village of Hawkshead, the Old School House is welcoming and comfortable, and Sarah and David couldn't have made us feel more at home. Tea and scones on arrival was a lovely treat, and pre-dinner port in the cosy living room was a definite bonus. Everything we could have needed was provided, and the owners were helpful and accommodating. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay and have booked to stay again within the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed at The Old Schoolhouse on a Saturday with two friends. We were made to feel very welcome by Sarah and David. Macey the black labrador was also very friendly and welcoming.Little touches like tea,coffe,scones and cake on arrival were very nice. There was even a tray of port and sherry in the lounge for guests if they wanted a pre dinner drink. The rooms were spotless and the place is full of character. We needed a taxi for that evening and David offered to arrange that for us.Breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked to order. We would definitely recommend this as the place to stay in Hawkshead. Our friends felt the same and we all plan to return.

John and Elaine
Thornton

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawkshead hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ann Tysons House
Ann Tysons House
#13 of 23 in Hawkshead
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#9 of 23 in Hawkshead
356 reviews
0 mi away
School House Cottage
School House Cottage
#12 of 23 in Hawkshead
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School House

Address: Old School House Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range: £88 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old School House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic property within 2 minutes walk of the centre of Hawkshead. The house was the former home of Wordsworth's head master and retains many original features. The back of the house dates from the Tudor period. Come and stay in this historic house which has been lovinngly renovated to ensure our guests have all the comforts of the 21st century.Beautiful garden, parking, a secure garage for cycles, free wi-fi. Complimentary afternoon tea and cake. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Old School House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School House Hotel Hawkshead
The Old School House Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing