We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
133
13
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
13
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary drinks home from home on arrival large breakfast room separate lounge feel very welcome breakfast was excellent walking holiday amazing home lake district tea and coffee would highly recommend staying here fabulous place to stay fantastic night stayed here for three nights fantastic hosts thank you for a lovely
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Yet another visit to one of our favourite guest houses.As always Sarah and David made us most welcome as did Masie and new arrival Barney(Labradors) Standard of all rooms,food etc.maintain the usual very high level.Breakfasts are always cooked to order plus excellent choice of cereals.The tea or coffee supplied in late afternoon with lovely cakes or biscuits is always most welcome.We would recommend this establishment to anyone and in fact we have already booked again for 2014.Another big advantage is having parking facilities in comparison to many other Hawkshead hotels etc.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfaro51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your review. It is encouraging to have regular visitors and we enjoyed meeting you for the third time! Thank you for your emphasis on the parking available at The Old School House. Visitors always feel they benefit from having parking so close to the village without paying the charges! See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Just back from a wonderful weekend at the old school house , hosts Sarah and David made are stay wonderful nothing was to much trouble we had the Wordsworth room ,it was warm and very comfortable we enjoyed the wine and food on our first night. The room was extremely clean with tea and coffee supplied, the decor was very modern and topped off with a wonderful Cumbrian breakfast all locally supplied. Hope to return very soon, many thanks to Sarah and David you have got it just right

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcl186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. It was good to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A beautifully appointed house. Interesting building with well furnished guest rooms, lounge and dining room. Ideal location near centre of village of Hawkshead. Owners thoughtful and friendly. Breakfast cooked to order at a time to suit us. Would certainly recommend to others. Enjoy your stay, we did.

Date of stay: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. It is a great encouragement to us. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We were fortunate to book 2 rooms for a couple of nights this fall at this lovely B&B. David and Sarah made us feel right at home. They served us a wonderful breakfast - at a time that we wanted it served!. We have never experienced this at a B&B before. This is great when you are on holiday and don't necessarily want to get up at 7:30 to make an 8:00am breakfast! The rooms were clean and had all the amenities and the beds was comfortable. There was port and sherry waiting for you at the end of a busy day site seeing - nice. You will not be disappointed with David and Sarah's hospitality and the fact that you are right in the village makes the location very convenient. You can walk to everything.

Room tip: We were traveling with our Daughter and Son-in-law and we were in Wordsworth and Ruskin. Both rooms were well equiped and spacious.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

So pleased you all enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

As other reviewers have said, this place is a fabulous find. Right in the centre of the gorgeous village of Hawkshead, the Old School House is welcoming and comfortable, and Sarah and David couldn't have made us feel more at home. Tea and scones on arrival was a lovely treat, and pre-dinner port in the cosy living room was a definite bonus. Everything we could have needed was provided, and the owners were helpful and accommodating. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay and have booked to stay again within the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews