We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old School House
Nearby Hotels
Waterhead Hotel(Coniston)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
121
13
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
13
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary drinkshome from homeon arrivalfree parking on sitefresh fruit yogurtlovely gestureamazing homeliving roomwalking holidayseparate loungewould highly recommend staying hereresidents loungebreakfast was excellentgreat hostswonderful weekendan ideal placegorgeous village
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is a lovely homely place to stay, from the homemade cake on arrival to the lovely freshly cooked breakfast. The room we stayed in (Wordsworth) had a great comfy bed and was nicely decorated.
The location is ideal for checking out the really wonderful village of Hawkshead and as others have said there is parking on site.
David and Sarah are wonderful hosts and made us feel most welcome. All in all we had a really (well deserved!) relaxing break.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sabina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

We are very grateful that you took the trouble to review our property and even more grateful that you have made such positive comments. When a group is staying with us for a wedding (as you were) it can feel very busy and we have to work hard to provide the relaxed experience which we want our guests to enjoy. Thank you and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My 12 year old son and I stayed at The old School House in Hawkshead for four nights. We are regular walkers and stay in different parts of the UK to go mountain trekking every year. The Old School House is ,without doubt, the best B&B we have stayed in over the last four years. Not only is the accommodation excellent, the welcome, care and approach of Sarah and David the owners is fantastic. The quality and quantity of breakfast (I am a veggie) is really high, as is the number of cakes and cusps of tea provided by David whenever we returned from a day out.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wagparts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

So pleased you both enjoyed our B&B and that it was a good base for your walking excursions and 'Go Ape' activity in the forest. We hope to see you again so that you can continue your walks and climbing outings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Yet another visit to one of our favourite guest houses.As always Sarah and David made us most welcome as did Masie and new arrival Barney(Labradors) Standard of all rooms,food etc.maintain the usual very high level.Breakfasts are always cooked to order plus excellent choice of cereals.The tea or coffee supplied in late afternoon with lovely cakes or biscuits is always most welcome.We would recommend this establishment to anyone and in fact we have already booked again for 2014.Another big advantage is having parking facilities in comparison to many other Hawkshead hotels etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfaro51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your review. It is encouraging to have regular visitors and we enjoyed meeting you for the third time! Thank you for your emphasis on the parking available at The Old School House. Visitors always feel they benefit from having parking so close to the village without paying the charges! See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Just back from a wonderful weekend at the old school house , hosts Sarah and David made are stay wonderful nothing was to much trouble we had the Wordsworth room ,it was warm and very comfortable we enjoyed the wine and food on our first night. The room was extremely clean with tea and coffee supplied, the decor was very modern and topped off with a wonderful Cumbrian breakfast all locally supplied. Hope to return very soon, many thanks to Sarah and David you have got it just right

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcl186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. It was good to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A beautifully appointed house. Interesting building with well furnished guest rooms, lounge and dining room. Ideal location near centre of village of Hawkshead. Owners thoughtful and friendly. Breakfast cooked to order at a time to suit us. Would certainly recommend to others. Enjoy your stay, we did.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy14_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawksheadCumbria, Manager at The Old School House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. It is a great encouragement to us. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews