We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Does what it says on the tin'”
Review of Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sun Inn
Ranked #10 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'Does what it says on the tin'”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Very reasonably priced. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice atmosphere. Stayed two nights and changed rooms, fairly basic but comfortable.
Very pleasant evening meals. Westmoreland pie is one to try.
A lovely location and very 'Lakeland'.

Room Tip: Room 6 overlooking the front of the Inn sloping roof but very comfortable and nice views of hills fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swhite s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    116
    34
    21
    21
See reviews for
57
182
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Helens, Lancs
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for 1 night to celebrate my girlfriends birthday and had a great stay.
Had room 1 which was really nicely decorated with a nice comfy bed.
Check in was painless as was checkout.
A nice touch is that you get a free parking pass for the car park over the road which was very handy indeed.
The Inn is very nicely decorated and is a fantastic blend of olde worlde & modern, the only room which could do with changing was the dining room which was pale blue which gave a cold feeling but it wasn't a problem.
The food however I would recommend, we had 3 courses and both enjoyed everything very much, and speaking of food, the breakfast was absolutely gorgeous!
Would deffo stay here again...if anyone has any questions then please feel free to ask.

Room Tip: Room 1 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobSt_Helens_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Sun in September after the sad loss of our father. The hotel manager Nick and the staff could not do enough for us. We held the funeral buffet at the Inn and they put on an excellent buffet and took great care of family members and guests they even closed the public bar to the general public for a couple of hours. We went onto have a family meal for 14 people at short notice in the evening and once again the staff were friendly helpfull and the service was excellent. The care they took of us all was very gratefully appreciated and we would not hesitate to stay at the hotel when visiting family in the area in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
417 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed overnight on our way home to South East England from a trip around Scotland and only booked B&B the night before we arrived. We had the four poster room which although small, had plenty of character. The bed itself was comfortable although the bed side lights could have done with being brighter to read by. We were a bit concerned about the room being over the main bar area but that was unfounded as there was little noise to disturb us after around 10pm. Food is pub food but very good quality and plenty of it. Same with breakfast and from memory if you had the full English there was 8 elements to it but you could choose less items if required. All the staff were friendly and service was good considering the place was very busy. There is no on site parking but you do get a permit from the inn to park for free in the village's main car park which is about 100 yards away. We would be happy to stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed in the family room which was of a good size, however, the bathroom was tiny not at all suitable for a family! I would rate the room average.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and whilst it was OK I would not rave about it. My son age 8 did not want anything on the children's menu so we asked if we could have a small portion from the normal menu. However, this got lost in translation as we received a full size meal and were charged for a full size.

The breakfast is cooked fresh and is plentiful, however, the black pudding was burnt on both mornings.

The service was lacking when we were there. The staff were pleasant but I was very disappointed to find that our room did not get serviced. Someone had obviously been in the room as the cups had been washed but the beds weren't made bathroom wasn't cleaned and there were no clean towels!

When we asked about this we were told it was a mistake and we were given clean towels. Now at first I was OK with this as mistakes happen, however, when we collected our key later that evening a lady presumably a manager rushed over and preceded to tell us that it was not policy to make beds when servicing the rooms! For this reason alone we will not return to the Sun Inn there was absolutely no need for this comment as we hadn't even made a fuss.

The Sun Inn is in a great location and Hawkshead itself is a great base for touring the lakes. The free parking permit is a bonus

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powyswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My family and I were going out to eat in another pub but when we arrived the pub was closed due to a wedding reception. Time was ticking by so we went to Pooley Bridge as we knew there were a couple of pubs there. It was 8.15 so we just went in a took our chances. There weren't many in the pub but the girl behind the bar was very welcoming. We had a lovely meal, my son had a burger a d the rest of had bbc chicken . All meals were great and there was a lot of it, well worth the money. The only thing was as it got to 10 am they started closing down the bar,turning off lights in the adjoining bar, cashing up and the bar man came round the bar and put his crash helmet and coat on the chair. He was happy to serve another couple with drinks but we felt they wanted to close the pub and didn't order anymore shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We recently had our holiday staying in Pooley Bridge, and visited The Sun Inn, our first impressions were how friendly and helpful the Staff were, we managed to get a table even though it was extremely busy and had our eveing meal, the food was hot and delicious the service was excellent abd the restaurant was nice and cosy also very clean, we ate there four times and every time we were not disappointed we would definately go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
4.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.7 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Inn

Property: Sun Inn
Address: Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming un-spoilt village of Hawkshead, our lovely 17th Century Inn has everything to offer those looking for an ideal break or holiday away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The Sun Inn will instantly charm you. It has a wealth of original features including open fires, historical wood paneling, exposed stone walls, and oak beams, and we pride ourselves on making all our guests feel at home. You will be warmly welcomed and our aim is to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Hawkshead
Sun Inn Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing