We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house, very welcoming owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beechmount Country House
Ranked #15 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house, very welcoming owners”
Reviewed 13 March 2011

The owners, Gary and Denise, made us feel at home straight away. Extremely comfortable room, and especially enjoyed the lounge with its' leather sofas and log fire while we relaxed with a complimentary beer before visiting the local pub for a fantastic meal.
Very comfy bed, a good night's sleep, and fab breakfast in the morning.
Lovely walk up to Beatrix Potter's favourite lake in the morning after Gary's advice !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    6
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

My wife and I stayed with Gary and Denise based entirely on what we had read here in Tripadvisor and we could not have enjoyed our time with them any more. Upon arrival we were greeted at the door with smiles and a warm welcome inclusive of Denise wishing my wife a Happy Birthday! I had mentioned it in passing in email and Denise remembered straight away. That attention to detail set the perfect tone for the entire visit which went from strength to strength. The large well appointed room, the very cozy bed, the fire, the breakfast, the map drawing and the instance upon our taking fruit for our long journey home are all examples of the love they both put into what they do. We will, without question, be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saralaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We had a wonderful few days staying with Denise and Gary in their beautiful house. The location is stunning, and their hospitality and attention to detail was excellent. We will certainly return for another visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jansutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Great little place to stay. We stayed in the cottage in Jan. The weather was very changeable - snow, sun, rain, sleet ,, but it only added to the beauty of the Lakes. The cottage is very well appointed, to a very high standard. Denise and Gary were lovely, very friendly and helpful. The bed is fantastic and there is a great shower room with heated floor. The cottage has a good kitchen with just about everything you will need and has a small eating and seating area. Chairs are not the most comfortable for long Winter nights in, but in all other aspects, this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steventerenzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We stayed for our honeymoon and couldn't fault anything. The location is perfect and the coach house cottage was lovely, very quaint with all modern equipment. If you are looking to stay in a beautiful location with friendly hosts in lovely accomodation then look no further and book here - we will certainly be coming back next year for our anniversary!! Thanks again Gary and Denise for making our honeymoon so perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megz73_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The hosts are perfect they made us feel at home straightaway. The breakfasts are excellent. The rooms are of a really high quality and exceptionally clean. We had the most perfect weekend and have booked again - we can't wait.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polly190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I am just about to book another trip for March 2011 and realised I should have left this review months ago - despite the passage of time the pleasure my Mum and I had staying with Denise and Gary hasn't faded. We picked a very quiet time and believe we must have choosen the only few days when there were no other guests. Denise made us feel extra special, providing tea and cake in our room and also producing a wonderful bithday breakfast for my Mum- we can't wait to go back next March so are booking this week - I really couldn't fault Beechmount House and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wagonwheeleater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
0.1 mi away
Sawrey House Hotel
Sawrey House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Near Sawrey
646 reviews
3.0 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ees Wyke Country House
Ees Wyke Country House
#5 of 5 in Near Sawrey
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
336 reviews
1.9 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buckle Yeat Guest House
Buckle Yeat Guest House
#3 of 5 in Near Sawrey
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechmount Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechmount Country House

Property: Beechmount Country House
Address: Sawrey, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beechmount Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechmount Country House Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing