We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beechmount Country House
Ranked #15 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed here for a few days in June having booked on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. Gary and Denise were wonderful caring hosts and nothing was too much trouble including washing and ironing our clothes! We stayed in the Esthwaite room which had its own cosy sitting room and a breathtaking view of the lake from both rooms. We also had the use of a lovely lounge with open fire and a garden conservatory with home made cakes and tea or coffee available. The area is stunningly beautiful with lovely walks and the village of Hawkshead with its quaint cafes and shops. Tower Bank Arms nearby was great for an evening drink with the locals and good pub food. Also try the Drunken Duck restaurant at Ambleside for a special treat! Beatrix Potters cottage a short stroll away and well worth the visit. Try also the drives over Hardknott Pass for the Roman Fort and views of Isle of Man and Kirkstone Pass for the views and pub at the top! You won't want to leave....

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoscoBritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    6
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed at the beautiful Potters Cottage for a week and it was absolutely lovely. The "cottage" is a ground floor apartment which has a separate entrance but is part of the main house. It has a lovely modern bathroom with underfloor heating - a great shower but no bath. The kitchen is well appointed with dishwasher and washing machine. The bedroom has a most comfortable bed with crisp white linen.

The hosts, Denise and Gary, are very welcoming and provided delicious cake on arrival served in the beautiful gardens. They even provided a barbecue one night which we shared with another couple, it was idyllic to sit on the terrace of the summer house eating our meal on a warms summers evening.

If staying here take care driving through the entrance gate as it is very narrow, most people did as we did and parked in the small playground car park opposite the house.

We would definitely recommend staying here and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2011

What a wonderful place. A tiny piece of paradise nestled in the small town of Hawkshead. Pristine grounds with a fab view. The house is filled with elegant furniture with 3 guest rooms. Extremely clean & tidy. Breakfast is everything one could ask for setting you up for the day.
I was apprehensive about going as I had an accident a month before wondering how I was going to get on with limited movement. My worries were over once I met proprietors Denise & Gary, they couldn't do more, treating me like one of the family. Thanks for everything. Can't wait to return.
Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtbdawnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Despite the showers and drizzle, we loved our three day stay here. It was so peaceful and quiet - waking up every morning to the glorious view over the lake was a joy. We were surrounded by birdsong and bleating lambs. We were able to take several walks from the door of the B&B through the beautiful countryside. We stayed in the Esthwaite room which had a spacious sitting room adjacent to the bedroom. Both rooms had the gorgeous view. Having peeked into the other rooms while they were vacant, I would definitely ask for Esthwaite. One goes out into a small summer house above the gardens to get internet access since the wifi doesn't go through the thick stone walls. The wifi was quite quirky and intermittent which can be a problem if you are trying to deal with issues back home like I was. I peeked into the self catering cottages which were very well furnished with high quality kitchen appliances including dishwashers and washing machines! We would often run into Gary at the local pub or local walks and he was always so helpful and cheerful despite having a day job as principal of a primary school. Denise was very cheery and welcoming as well - giving us very welcomed complementary wine and beer after our somewhat rocky arrival. When driving from the north (Ambleside), one can't easily see the sign for Beechmount because of obscuring shrubs. We drove all the way to Far Sawrey before turning around and on the return trip from the south, we finally spotted the sign which was clear from that side. This was our first visit to the Lake District and being on the less crowded and touristy western side of Windemere lake is a big asset. Would definitely recommend Beechmount.

Room Tip: Ask for Esthwaite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyssf2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Not usually one to write reviews...but felt compelled to add compliments for the warm welcome we received from Gary and Denise and a wonderful stay at Beechmont. Just there for one night but really impressed by the comfort of the room (including really comfortable bed), lovely decor and attention to detail, great view of lake from our room and beautiful well kept gardens. Denise and Gary are a genuinely caring couple who certainly go the extra mile - including coffee and homemade cake (lemon drizzle cake - delicious), advice on walks and local places to eat (local pub food was great for evening meal and good wine selection) - this is more than simply B&B. We plan to return! (Sean & Liza)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Like many others, my wife and I decided upon the Beechmount purely on what we have read on trip advisor. What started as an overnight stay quickly became the highlight of our holiday experience. One night turned in to two, two nights to three; we simply could not imagine ourselves finding a more suitable accommodation. Gary and Denise's warm hospitality were the perfect addition to the absolute beauty of the Hawkshead landscape. Each moment was better than the last as we explored the many walking trails with fellow guests who quickly became good friends. We were rewarded each night with divine Hawkshead Ale accompanied with the best pub food I have ever experienced, both enjoyed at the Tower Arms, only a short stumble from the Beechmount. This trip was by far the best holiday I have ever been on, and I hold Gary and Denise personally responsible.

We look forward to our return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandMeagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We booked our stay with Garry and Denise, purely based on the excellent reviews on trip advisor. It was everything we have read which was very re-assuring. A lovely house, friendly hosts, nice breakfast, easy parking and nice places to eat nearby. If you want to experience the lake district away from the tourist element near Bowness / Windemere and you are driving, i would definately recommend.
Anthony

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
0.1 mi away
Sawrey House Hotel
Sawrey House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Near Sawrey
646 reviews
3.0 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ees Wyke Country House
Ees Wyke Country House
#5 of 5 in Near Sawrey
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
336 reviews
1.9 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
465 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buckle Yeat Guest House
Buckle Yeat Guest House
#3 of 5 in Near Sawrey
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechmount Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechmount Country House

Property: Beechmount Country House
Address: Sawrey, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beechmount Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechmount Country House Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing