We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beechmount Country House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
76
6
0
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
6
0
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal pubprivate loungelake districtbed was very comfortablelovely placeyogurtgarrysawreysuitehostslakes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The hosts are perfect they made us feel at home straightaway. The breakfasts are excellent. The rooms are of a really high quality and exceptionally clean. We had the most perfect weekend and have booked again - we can't wait.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polly190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I am just about to book another trip for March 2011 and realised I should have left this review months ago - despite the passage of time the pleasure my Mum and I had staying with Denise and Gary hasn't faded. We picked a very quiet time and believe we must have choosen the only few days when there were no other guests. Denise made us feel extra special, providing tea and cake in our room and also producing a wonderful bithday breakfast for my Mum- we can't wait to go back next March so are booking this week - I really couldn't fault Beechmount House and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wagonwheeleater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed in the two double rooms which benefit from wonderful views, one of the rooms had it's own lounge which was a great place to relax and chat/read/relax with a wonderful outlook on the lake. The rooms are very clean and spacious, it was almost a shame to venture out as the house was just such a lovely place to be. Short walk to the pub which sells excellent meals. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, and went beyond what was required to make our stay an excellent one. The breakfast was very good, and the service was a1. There was also beer available so you can have a couple of relaxing beers in the evening. And of course you are only two doors down from Hilltop, Beatrix Potters former residence. There is also trout fishing on the lake, which is a 3 minute drive around the other side of the lake. Smashing!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittybiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed 2 nights in early August and loved this hotel and location. We had thankfully picked another choice of accommodation where the owners obviously love what they do! Although that is how it should be, it is not always the case. Denise and Gary are wonderful hosts and have a beautiful home, as beforesaid, the web site does not completely do it justice. The garden was a bonus and when grabbing our books to read before going out to dinner, being told to 'help yourselves to coffee, tea and cake in the summer house' is my idea of heaven. (My husband's is being told 'help yourself to a beer in the fridge under the stairs'). The Esthwaite Suite was lovely and every need catered for, with views of the Langdale Pikes and Esthwaite water. We highly recommend this lovely hotel, just far enough from Hill Top to avoid the 'Potter' tourists but close enough to the Tower Bank Arms for a lovely walk in the evening and a meal and drink outside people watching. Lovely hotel, lovely location, lovely hosts. Thanks Denise and Gary.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

If you're looking somewhere lovely to stay in the Lake District do look into the lovely self-catering cottages this B&B has to offer. We stayed in 'Potter Cottage' a week ago.

We found a lovingly restored cottage easily accommodating two with a really comfortable bed, modern bathroom, nice little sitting room and kitchen that included Dualit appliances and Emma Bridgewater crockery (where do you find that in a holiday let?).

The website currently does not justice to the hard work the owners have put into the gardens which are stocked with beautiful plants. They've also build a little summer house where you can do tea and enjoy the views, should the weather let you temporarily down.

We found the location in Near Sawrey an excellent one, albeit close to one of the more popular sites in the Lakes (home of Beatrix Potter) it is quietly pretty, away from the throng of tourists and near some lovely walks and Lakes and a National Trust pub.

There is a second cottage for rent which looked equally pretty from the outside.
There is apparently a wifi connection which, according to the guest book, works in the bedroom :-)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monaonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews