We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest B & B experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beechmount Country House
Ranked #15 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2011

My wife and I stayed with Gary and Denise based entirely on what we had read here in Tripadvisor and we could not have enjoyed our time with them any more. Upon arrival we were greeted at the door with smiles and a warm welcome inclusive of Denise wishing my wife a Happy Birthday! I had mentioned it in passing in email and Denise remembered straight away. That attention to detail set the perfect tone for the entire visit which went from strength to strength. The large well appointed room, the very cozy bed, the fire, the breakfast, the map drawing and the instance upon our taking fruit for our long journey home are all examples of the love they both put into what they do. We will, without question, be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saralaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Beechmount Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2011

We had a wonderful few days staying with Denise and Gary in their beautiful house. The location is stunning, and their hospitality and attention to detail was excellent. We will certainly return for another visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jansutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Great little place to stay. We stayed in the cottage in Jan. The weather was very changeable - snow, sun, rain, sleet ,, but it only added to the beauty of the Lakes. The cottage is very well appointed, to a very high standard. Denise and Gary were lovely, very friendly and helpful. The bed is fantastic and there is a great shower room with heated floor. The cottage has a good kitchen with just about everything you will need and has a small eating and seating area. Chairs are not the most comfortable for long Winter nights in, but in all other aspects, this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steventerenzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We stayed for our honeymoon and couldn't fault anything. The location is perfect and the coach house cottage was lovely, very quaint with all modern equipment. If you are looking to stay in a beautiful location with friendly hosts in lovely accomodation then look no further and book here - we will certainly be coming back next year for our anniversary!! Thanks again Gary and Denise for making our honeymoon so perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megz73_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The hosts are perfect they made us feel at home straightaway. The breakfasts are excellent. The rooms are of a really high quality and exceptionally clean. We had the most perfect weekend and have booked again - we can't wait.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polly190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I am just about to book another trip for March 2011 and realised I should have left this review months ago - despite the passage of time the pleasure my Mum and I had staying with Denise and Gary hasn't faded. We picked a very quiet time and believe we must have choosen the only few days when there were no other guests. Denise made us feel extra special, providing tea and cake in our room and also producing a wonderful bithday breakfast for my Mum- we can't wait to go back next March so are booking this week - I really couldn't fault Beechmount House and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wagonwheeleater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed in the two double rooms which benefit from wonderful views, one of the rooms had it's own lounge which was a great place to relax and chat/read/relax with a wonderful outlook on the lake. The rooms are very clean and spacious, it was almost a shame to venture out as the house was just such a lovely place to be. Short walk to the pub which sells excellent meals. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, and went beyond what was required to make our stay an excellent one. The breakfast was very good, and the service was a1. There was also beer available so you can have a couple of relaxing beers in the evening. And of course you are only two doors down from Hilltop, Beatrix Potters former residence. There is also trout fishing on the lake, which is a 3 minute drive around the other side of the lake. Smashing!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittybiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
0.1 mi away
Sawrey House Hotel
Sawrey House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Near Sawrey
665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ees Wyke Country House
Ees Wyke Country House
#5 of 5 in Near Sawrey
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buckle Yeat Guest House
Buckle Yeat Guest House
#3 of 5 in Near Sawrey
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
244 reviews
4.9 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#13 of 103 in Ambleside
692 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belle Green Bed & Breakfast
Belle Green Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 5 in Near Sawrey
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechmount Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechmount Country House

Address: Sawrey, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range: £136 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beechmount Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechmount Country House Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing