We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Derek was the most fantastic host and made us feel very welcome. His personal service, brilliant cooking and the staff he has employed all make for the most relaxing and enjoyable experience. The guesthouse is beautifully decorated and the views are absolutely outstanding! Derek went out of his way to cater to our needs, which we really appreciate.
As a vegan I was catered for in every way with his delicious breakfasts and his two associated vegetarian restaurants in the nearby Ambleside. My boyfriend, a non-vegan, enjoyed the breakfasts and the meals out just as much, which says a lot for the quality!
Overall one of the best holiday experiences we have yet had and we will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: The owner Derek was the most fantastic host and made us feel very welcome. His personal service, bri...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Carly
Glad to hear you had such an enjoyable stay here,look forward to welcoming you back
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

I travel a lot, and stay in hotels at least three months a year, and so I'm now quite picky about where I stay. A place has to be pretty spectacular to warrant a 5 spot review from me, but Yewfield certainly deserves it.
What an absolutely fantastic place it is. Tucked away off the beaten track, but only a 15 minute drive from Ambleside, Yewfield is a tranquil little haven. The staff are friendly and unobtrusive, and staying in Rowan, away from the main house, we really did feel like we had the place to ourselves.
Our room was large, beautifully furnished, and immaculately clean with a gorgeous en-suite bathroom, and everything you could possibly want. The gardens are beautiful, with plenty of chairs and benches scattered around, which just invite lounging: perfect in the evening, as it is so dark there that the stars are just breathtaking!
The breakfast, whilst a little early at 8am, is just delicious: gorgeous vegan smoothie, lovely fruit salad, and a filling vegan or vegetarian fry-up!
There really is nothing that I could fault Yewfield on, it really is the perfect Lakes luxury get away. We will definitely be returning soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in Rowan, which is lovely because it is in a separate wing to the main house, and felt ver...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fadryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Rowan and the surrounding area of Yewfield
Best wishes Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I was taken there by my partner and so I didn't have any idea what to expect... It was mind-blowing! Calm, lovely place with stunning rooms and very helpful and understanding, although a bit reserved, owners. Big garden, plenty of space to wander off and nicely presented vegeterian or vegan breakfast,
We booked our room just for one night and (because it was so wonderful) we decided to stay longer. We asked if it was possible to move us to a cheaper room and they let us stay in ours for the price of the cheaper one! You will need a car as the place is literally in the middle of fields but apart from this everything is just perfect!

Room Tip: any room!!! all are amazing!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gosha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Gosha
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Yewfield, come back soon and explore the Lakes
Best wishes Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great place, really quiet and tucked away from the roads. Food was excellent, room was great and the hospitality was great as well.
There was a nice selection of things to do at the hotel with magazines, books, DVD's and CD's with the facilities to watch / listen to them.
Room was to a high standard, had a great bath. Bed was very comfortable and the staff were happy to help with any problems.
Some great walks starting from the Yewfield and even a few within the grounds themselves.

Would happily go back. Visited Spring 2013.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Bob
Glad you liked your stay and the walks straight from the door.
Best wishes Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This place was recommended to us 6 years ago and we've been going back for a yearly treat ever since. It's SUCH a relaxing place to stay, the decor is gorgeous (from the owner's Christmas trips to India?), the breakfast is veggie heaven (inc homemade smoothie, mmmmm), there is a low turnover of very friendly and helpful staff (always a good sign of a great place!) and the location is great for walking.

It's pricier than an average B&B but that reflects the fact that it's more like a hotel/retreat. You can come and go as you please and it's fitted out to the standard of a high class hotel. We're regular travellers, we like to try out different places rather than stick to the same holidays each year but we break this 'rule' to revisit Yewfield again and again because we love it so much.

Our favourite room so far is number 15... great views! We've also stayed in Rooms 10, 11, 14 and 17, all lovely too - with decor to a very high standard. (Room 17 is quite quirky, a cosy attic room with a small window that has a nice view). We're going for Vale View next year!

I have absolutely NO idea how anyone can give this place anything less than 5 stars!! Enjoy your stay :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alovelycuppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Always glad to hear of those pleasant stays best wishes Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This guest house is much more than a bed and breakfast, as many have pointed out. It is more like a vegetarian retreat, mini-hotel, run by friendly staff and students. The grounds are superbly maintained with ecological considerations uppermost, such as the replacement of coniferous forestry with original deciduous trees in the surrounding areas. The walk up behind the house is superb and was often repeated during our stay; it leads to a genuinely stunning view over the Tawn Mor (?) lake, from where you can hike off in all directions up into the higher surrounding hills, without touching any roads.The owner, Derek, has also successfully started two vegetarian restaurants in Ambleside, both of which were popular and full when we went, so booking ahead is worthwhile. He also owns about five local cinema screens in three locations in Ambleside, showing an eclectic mix of films for all tastes. A franchise to other less culturally elevated Lake District towns would be welcomed!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were 'good'!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear John
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and made good use of the walks here at Yewfield
Best wishes Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband, daughter (16 mths) and I stayed at the Yewfield for 3 nights in June 2013. We stayed in "Juniper" in the converted 1870's coach house next door which worked out just perfectly with its own deck, the car parked right there, and more noise proofing/less antiques than the main house which was useful with a toddler! The room was decorated with a modern, natural feel which was a nice contrast from the traditional style of the main house, about a 2 minute walk away.

The breakfast was delicious - a fresh, healthy continental buffet followed by a cooked breakfast. I particularly enjoyed the vegan smoothie, berry granola, homemade wholewheat bread and veggie sausage on the cooked breakfast. Loved the range of tea bags and biscuits in the room. We did the 3 night B&B plus two 3-course dinner midweek deal, and ate at their two vegetarian sister restaurants in Ambleside (the dinners were a little trickier with an infant, Zeffirelli's being more noisy and family friendly). Both restaurants are about a 10 minute drive away down wiggly roads, but gave us a chance to explore Ambleside too (free street parking after 6pm if you can find it, otherwise bring lots of change for the pay and display machines).

Loved the fact we could walk out of our room, up a path to the side of the coach house, and around Tarn Hows (aprx 4 miles, 2 hrs with stops) without having to deal with driving and expensive pay and display parking. There were several other shorter walks around the grounds and the Tarn Hows hike could be extended with hikes up neighboring peaks to get better views. Folks at the Yewfield were helpful providing recommendations, a map of local paths to keep and a laminated OS map to borrow the days were hiked.

My only criticisms would be low water pressure in shower in the Juniper room, no bathtub, and intermittent TV and weak wifi signal. This hotel is also out of the way a little, but we didn't mind that and appreciated not having to deal with parking, crowds, noise, etc, if we had stayed in one of the bigger Lake District towns.

All in all a fabulous stay. Would recommend for vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike. Also feel that the midweek 3 night offer was great value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritGalinMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Glad to hear you had a good stay here the weather was good too
Best wishes Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
4.0 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
564 reviews
1.9 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yewfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yewfield Bed & Breakfast

Address: Hawkshead Hill, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range: £84 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Yewfield Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yewfield is a peaceful and quiet retreat set in over 80 acres of private grounds extending on to Tarn Hows, a lovely beauty spot of the Lake District. 12 en-suite rooms newly appointed to win a 5 star silver award from the Lake district tourist board. Classical concerts with some of the world's finest performers help to make this one of the Lake District's most magical venues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yewfield Hotel Hawkshead
Yewfield Bed And Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing