We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This venue is absolutely perfect. The house is massive and so much more than any guest house or hotel for that matter. We were greeted by Sue and also had opportunity to speak to the owner. Derek. Lovely people as were all the staff at this truly amazing place. The house is decorated to a beautiful standard and exceptionally clean. Our room had double aspect windows and we looked out over the magnificent gardens and countryside beyond. The gardens instantly lead to some lovely country walks. Food extremely delicious and satisfying. It is hard to describe this as a guest house or hotel. Somehow it is so much more and an absolutely delightful experience. It embraces all that is good. We also dined at zeffirellis and fellini's which are located in Ambleside and are under the same ownership as yew field. Award winning restaurants and perfect in every possible way. We cannot recommend yew field and the restaurants highly enough. Truly amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aries0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
I will pass on your kind compliments to Sue and the rest of the team
glad you had a great stay Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    34
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
163
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have just spent 6 nights at this wonderful location. Our room was fabulous, with a lovely fire for those chilly evenings - very cosy!
The views from the large windows were exceptional.
What a treat also to have breakfast to order and with a variety of juices and yogurts available for starters. The staff were very attentive.
We also dined at Zeffirellis and Fellini's in Ambleside and were bowled over by the amount of choice on both menus, the food exceptional and the decor in both restaurants is fab.
Thank you, we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Vale view excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheid2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay here at Yewfield
With best wishes Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just spent a wonderful couple of days at this pretty special place. The setting in the wilds of the Lake District, but easily accessible to Ambleside, Windermere and Coniston, is fantastic - you feel surrounded by beauty both outside and inside the hotel. The interior decoration is a lovely reflection of the owners travels, the place is filled with interesting and striking furniture and ornaments. With its DVD library and magazines and books for borrowing it would be easy to spend a week sitting in the comfortable guest lounge, by the roaring wood stove. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, with stunning views over the Lake district and the breakfast is lovely - home made bread and muesli, dried and fresh fruit and a tasty cooked offering.
The midweek special is worth looking at - giving you 3 nights B & B along with 3 course meals at the associated restaurants in nearby Ambleside. A very good deal.
Will definitely be going again.

Room Tip: We were in room 14 - lovely balcony and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Val
Pleased to hear you had a lovely stay here at Yewfield hope to see you return
Best wishes Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

It's slightly remote and elevated location makes the setting for this hotel absolutely superb.
The hotel is traditional only in it's exterior. The interior design is beautiful and classically modern as well as being high spec.
The service was outstanding.
I hadn't realised it wad not a licensed hotel but when i asked for two glasses of wine to toast my husband's birthday, the owner actually poured us a drink from his own wine bottle! He could not have been more friendly or professional. A truly customer focused hotel.
Thank you Derek

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rufusmctickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
I am very happy to hear you had such a great time on your birthday treat away
with best wishes Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

very comfortable and pleasant setting and area, made very welcome,

very close to one of the best places i have ever seen Tarn Hows
and only a five minute drive from lake coniston and lake windermere, all in all a lovely place for anybody to visit, cool for driving around and fantastic for walking

thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonL119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Jason
Nice to hear you had a lovely time here in the Lakes
Best wishes Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Derek was the most fantastic host and made us feel very welcome. His personal service, brilliant cooking and the staff he has employed all make for the most relaxing and enjoyable experience. The guesthouse is beautifully decorated and the views are absolutely outstanding! Derek went out of his way to cater to our needs, which we really appreciate.
As a vegan I was catered for in every way with his delicious breakfasts and his two associated vegetarian restaurants in the nearby Ambleside. My boyfriend, a non-vegan, enjoyed the breakfasts and the meals out just as much, which says a lot for the quality!
Overall one of the best holiday experiences we have yet had and we will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: The owner Derek was the most fantastic host and made us feel very welcome. His personal service, bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Carly
Glad to hear you had such an enjoyable stay here,look forward to welcoming you back
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I travel a lot, and stay in hotels at least three months a year, and so I'm now quite picky about where I stay. A place has to be pretty spectacular to warrant a 5 spot review from me, but Yewfield certainly deserves it.
What an absolutely fantastic place it is. Tucked away off the beaten track, but only a 15 minute drive from Ambleside, Yewfield is a tranquil little haven. The staff are friendly and unobtrusive, and staying in Rowan, away from the main house, we really did feel like we had the place to ourselves.
Our room was large, beautifully furnished, and immaculately clean with a gorgeous en-suite bathroom, and everything you could possibly want. The gardens are beautiful, with plenty of chairs and benches scattered around, which just invite lounging: perfect in the evening, as it is so dark there that the stars are just breathtaking!
The breakfast, whilst a little early at 8am, is just delicious: gorgeous vegan smoothie, lovely fruit salad, and a filling vegan or vegetarian fry-up!
There really is nothing that I could fault Yewfield on, it really is the perfect Lakes luxury get away. We will definitely be returning soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in Rowan, which is lovely because it is in a separate wing to the main house, and felt ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fadryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Rowan and the surrounding area of Yewfield
Best wishes Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
1.1 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#4 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
1.0 mi away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#10 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yewfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yewfield Bed & Breakfast

Property: Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Address: Hawkshead Hill, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Yewfield Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yewfield is a peaceful and quiet retreat set in over 80 acres of private grounds extending on to Tarn Hows, a lovely beauty spot of the Lake District. 12 en-suite rooms newly appointed to win a 5 star silver award from the Lake district tourist board. Classical concerts with some of the world's finest performers help to make this one of the Lake District's most magical venues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yewfield Bed And Breakfast
Yewfield Hotel Hawkshead
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing