We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yewfield Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 23 Hawkshead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Larbert, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was our third visit to Yewfield and as always we were made to feel very welcome. In a lot of ways we feel we are coming home when we arrive! Breakfasts are fantastic with lots of choice, home made bread, fresh fruit, yoghurt and of course a cooked breakfast as well. It really does set you up for the day! The first night we went to Fellinis for a meal which was fantastic, it is such a joy as a vegetarian to be able to choose ANYTHING off the menu, highly recommended. It is a relaxing place, if you like it a bit more lively I recommend the sister restaurant Zefarellis which is all veggie as well. The absolute highlight of the weekend however were the two classical concerts that were held at Yewfield. We were treated to a extremely talented group of musicians playing a varied and interesting collection of pieces for piano, strings and clarinet. We heard lots of new stuff which was brilliant. It was a real privilege to hear such wonderful music in such breathtaking surroundings. We also had a buffet both nights which was delicious, superb value. I can't thank the musicians enough, you made me smile and cry as well! Wonderful. The staff at Yewfield are kind, genuine people and we always look forward to coming back, thank you so much for a lovely stay. Carole and Kenny

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which has a huge 4 poster!! It's a really decent sized room, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Carole
Glad to hear you enjoy Yewfield and the concerts here are quite special, we are indeed blessed
to have such great musicians come and play here and to be able to share these events is what we really enjoy doing
Best wishes Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    34
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
155
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have been going to Yewfield every year since 1994, a sort of a pilgrimage for long walks in the lakes. I consider it to be the best B&B place in the lakes. Reasonable prices, wonderful views of nature, lovely walks straight from the house ( check out Tarn Haus), only 15 mins walk away and it is magical place where you can also swim. The staff are very courteous, friendly and always willing to help and advice for the surrounding walks. The rooms are very comfortable, and clean, each room offering differnt views of the surroundings. The breakfast is very hearty, delicious and filling, it will stock you up for a nice hike. Some of the produce comes from their own garden and is organic. You can borrow a range of book s and DVD's for personal use. The furnishings and decor are superb with interesting ornaments from all over the world or doted all over the house. There are frequent live classical and jazz concerts, and the owner, a jolly and friendly looking chap runs a four cinema screens in Ambleside with a superb two restaurants and a pizzeria. I have never surfed hours on the internet looking for a good B&B because each time I come back from this place with my body, mind and heart nourished and well rested. If you looking for a quite weekend or a longer vacation, to take walks, chill out and relax, I say this is the place, I give my thumbs up and five stars.
P. Raman

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent offering different views of the surrounding nature and hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Raman
Always a pleasure to have you here at Yewfield, thanks for the good review and keep coming back
With best wishes Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Contrary to another recent reviewer, I found Yewfield to be a really friendly place, with attentive staff who did everything they could to make our stay 5 *****! The place is stylish with lovely furnishings, brilliant bathrooms and views of the wonderful surrounding countryside from most of the rooms. The gardens are beautiful; a place to retreat to with a book or just to take in the peace and calm which permeates this special home. The staff go to great trouble to accommodate dietary requirements and to make sure that everyone has a healthy hearty breakfast to start the day. Yewfield is a hidden treasure....away from the crowds in Windermere and Ambleside.... a great place for walking...or relaxing

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Barbra
Thank you for your nice review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Yewfield, and come back soon!
Best wishes Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Great location outside Ambleside and lovely hotel with high quality of rooms. Absolutely no issues with the hotel itself as was kept in great condition. Unfortunately the staff were incredibly rude. The first morning we were woke up at 630am to which we complained. When we complained there was no apology, instead they just huffed and puffed as if this was unreasonable not to want to be woken up at 630am on a Saturday! If you ever wanted anything from the hotel it was impossible as no one was ever in reception. Upon checking out we couldn't find anyone having searched for 10 mins so left a note with our home and mobile telephone number for them to contact us to make payment. We didn't recieve a call so called the next day to no answer. They then rang on the Tuesday and were extremely rude and tried to charge more because we hadn't paid on checking out despite it being their fault! They also emailed our other friends threatening to take payment off their card if they couldn't reach us. Which is illegal and Not the way to run a business. We will certainly not be going again. If you like a nice a hotel with extremely rude and dishonest staff this is the place for you. Such a shame

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Jonny Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
I am very sorry some things did not go too well with your stay here at Yewfield. I was away when you visited but I have now had a chance to speak to Sue.
Upon your arrival you requested to change to a larger room. As it was a bank holiday the only room available was a suite which would incur an increased rate. Sue said she would not charge you the full rate but you then asked on departure to have a late checkout leaving around 2pm, so the final amount was the suite rate with no extra charge for the late check out. To call someone dishonest for this is not fair. She also reduced the rate to a superior room rate after talking with you.
I am sorry you were woken at 7.30am; this was due to a local farmer dropping off a tractor which took a few minutes, an unforeseen event that the staff would not have known about.
You mentioned that the reception was not manned during the day. This is quite right, we are a Country Guest House and not a Hotel and therefore can’t operate a 24/7 reception. Most guests pay at check out which helps as we are always around, but if we don’t know when you are coming back it is not always possible to be here as we have many tasks to do.
Our problem was we lost the note you left with your phone number so could not ring you, therefore sent an email to the guest who made the original booking and paid the deposit to ask if we should take the balance off their card which is the normal practice.
Lastly the staff member who dealt with most of this I have known for many years, and she always goes out of her way to make the guests stay here as pleasant as possible. In this case I think misunderstandings and there being no one at reception when you wanted to depart triggered a lot of unnecessary trouble for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Warm welcome when we arrived, we got very lost so finally found somewhere with signal and the receptionist was very helpful and we got there eventually. Chatted to the manager who was very friendly, explained if we needed anything to press the call button in the lobbey and someone would be with us, did this a few times and the staff were there very fast and very helpful.
The rooms were absolutely stunning, I was in a twin room with my cousin from florida, we found ourselves exploring everything just in the room before we even got outside. The bathroom was finished to a high standard and has the biggest shower I've ever seen! My parents had the tower room which was beautiful, we thought we'd need the living room part but we were told the rooms downstairs were for guest use, so we had a very relaxed and enjoyable last evening to our trip. The floridians loved it!
The cooked breakfast was not to my taste (the others loved it) but the cold breakfast was great, especially enjoyed the smoothy. When I return to the lakes I'll no doubt stay here again, lovely place and people.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Emma
Thank you for your kind response glad to hear you and your friends enjoyed there stay here at Yewfield
With best wishes Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Really nice accommodation, welcoming staff. Room good size with expensive decor.
Breakfast very good, but perhaps could be available til 10 instead of 9am?
Peaceful location but close enough to drive into Ambleside for the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nashat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Nashat
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and you can now have breakfast until 9.30am
With best wishes Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a marvellous place to stay. It is well situated in its own, very beautiful grounds (although personal transport is a must, I think). It's quiet and relaxing; a little haven. The room we stayed in was set apart from the main building, private, comfortable, beautifully furnished and impeccably clean. Breakfast was delicious and it was a delight to know that everything served was vegetarian! We'll definitely visit again. Many thanks for an enjoyable and refreshing stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekhook, Owner at Yewfield Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Jackie
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Yewfield I will pass on your comments to the staff
With all best wishes Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkshead
4.0 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ivy Guest House
Ivy Guest House
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#2 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yewfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yewfield Bed & Breakfast

Property: Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Address: Hawkshead Hill, Hawkshead, Ambleside LA22 0PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Hawkshead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Yewfield Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yewfield is a peaceful and quiet retreat set in over 80 acres of private grounds extending on to Tarn Hows, a lovely beauty spot of the Lake District. 12 en-suite rooms newly appointed to win a 5 star silver award from the Lake district tourist board. Classical concerts with some of the world's finest performers help to make this one of the Lake District's most magical venues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yewfield Hotel Hawkshead
Yewfield Bed And Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast Hawkshead, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing