We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Moon Restaurant

New Moon Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$50
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Another visit to Kendall and we immediately booked a table at The New Moon. We were not disappointed - the food was every bit as good as last time and the service excellent too. Wish we lived closer!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    115
    29
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Food Average Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The food was fabulous and served on time. But then getting a dessert menu and the check too nearly 45 minutes total. With better service, the place would be terrific.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty average restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

After reading the reviews of the New Moon on here, my partner and I were very keen to try it. The service was very good, nothing was too much trouble. As we went on a Tuesday night, the restaurant was very quiet. There was no atmosphere, everyone was whispering in hushed voices. The menu looked appealing, with a good variety of options. I had the blue cheese and asparagus soup, followed by the Moroccan tagine. The soup tasted of neither blue cheese or asparagus, and while the tagine was nice, it tasted like something I could cook at home from a jar. The wine on offer was good value, and very pleasant. I can't fault the staff, they did everything they could to make our evening enjoyable. It was just let down by the fairly average food. I would not bother going again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thriftyemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

A regular visitor but still never tire of the meals served. Lovely staff and welcoming. A good range of choice and excellent quality.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne2087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
269 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good food, less for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the early bird £13.50 for 2 courses for a family birthday meal. Aubergine starter was good. The only negative point is that there wasn't much for kids on the menus.

Helpful?
Thank Ricardodesantaalbana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Moon Restaurant also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to New Moon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing