We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
162
21
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
21
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite secret escapes cowshed toiletries stags head roll top bath stag room foxes den separate shower gnocchi hopping hare glass balcony herdwick room great views of the countryside head room manager craig complimentary coffee plaice
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with the Husband after visiting the lakes. The hotel is lovely; nicely decorated, clean throughout and great views. The room was really nice. Bathroom was gorgeous and the bed was really comfortable. The cowshed toiletries are a great touch especially from someone who appreciates good quality toiletries!
We ate in the hotel at night and the food was lovely. Breakfast in the morning was great also. All in all a lovely hotel and wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend to others.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank I_Heart_Travel_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythValleyInn, Front Office Manager at Lyth Valley Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you for your review and lovely comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Just wanted to say a big thank you to this hotel, we stayed for 2 nights, arrived late but they didn t make any problem with this, the staff, the room, the location, the view is just excellent coudnt wish better.
Great food, tasty dishes. Highly recommended

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Csombor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythValleyInn, Front Office Manager at Lyth Valley Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Myself and the family stayed here for our third and fourth visits and once again the service was amazing, food was perfect, and the place was immaculate throughout. I’d thoroughly recommend the partridge!
Myself and my partner stayed in the hooting owl room which is great if you like a dark room to sleep in. The bathroom is also amazing! We have also stayed in the quacking ducks room which offers brilliant views of the valley and an open plan bathroom (not the toilet!). This makes the room really light and airy.

We have already booked our next stay for February and can’t wait to try the stag room!

Thank you and see you then!

James, Soraya, Kay and Patrick.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank jdavis1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythValleyInn, Front Office Manager at Lyth Valley Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Second visit to this very pleasant country pub with very nice rooms . Just off the A590 , the hotel as you can imagine sits in the Lyth valley with very very nice views from most of the rooms . Food is pretty good , 9 out of 10 , I would say for what is a fairly small establishment. The place has what appears to be a family run atmosphere which is warm and inviting .
The only thing that lets it down which the hotel can do little about is the very fast road adjacent the property which clearly attracts locals and those in the know , travelling to and from Kendal . Between 4 and seven in the evening and 7 and 9 in the a.m , keep the windows shut , other than that, its very quiet and peaceful . As most are travelling way over the speed limit a strategically placed speed camera would slow the traffic , reduce the noise and make Cumbria Constabulary a fortune !

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythValleyInn, Front Office Manager at Lyth Valley Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thank you for your review, and comments. We appreciate the road is busy at times, please be aware the Deluxe Rooms do receive most of this noise, I would recommend a Superior King for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay and this is one of the nicest Places I have stayed in the lakes.
We arrived early and our room was ready. We stayed in the Hare room which was large and had gorgeous views of the hills. The room had everything in it including some lovely ‘cowshed toiletries’.
We ate both evening meals and breakfast at the hotel ( I would def recommend the pancakes!), the food was fab as was the service.
I would definitely stay again, thankyou for a lovely break

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Panda8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LythValleyInn, Front Office Manager at Lyth Valley Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews