We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy B&B - extremely gracious & helpful host!”
Review of Bridge House B&B

Bridge House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridge House B&B
Ranked #13 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Comfy B&B - extremely gracious & helpful host!”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Booked 3 rooms for 1 night en route to Scotland. Big house, comfy beds, great full breakfast and extremely gracious and helpful owner (and only 1-2 weeks after her hip replacement - I was VERY impressed, as I work in an Orthopedic hospital). Would recommend to others, especially walkers or cross-country skiiers - she knows the area VERY well.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
33
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

we recently stayed for 1 night and found the room to be comfortable with all the necessary amenities. we had a lovely cooked full cumbrian breakfast including fresh fruit and delicious home baked bread. Would highly recommend this family run B & B!
Gaynor and Ernie, scarborough

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argentgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2011

From the moment we arrive Sheila and Alan were very friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious, clean and cosy with lots of local books to to wander through. Breakfast was cooked superbly to order and while waiting we tucked into the home made bread and preserves and fresh fruit salad. The garden was lovely to relax in before we attended a wedding. It was like staying with and Aunt and Uncle who have a lovely house who you don't see often and don't want leave when you get there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlaseHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My partner and I stayed at Bridge House for one night on the way north, having chosen it on the strength of the other great reviews. We were warmly welcomed by Sheila, the rooms were comfortable, clean, and well-appointed, and I thought overall very reasonably-priced. I should add, we weren't at all aware of any noise from trains or clocks (our only slight worry after reading other reviews!), and even the road outside didn't bother us during the night. Breakfast was a lovely spread, with home-made bread and spreads.

I would highly reccomend Bridge House B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed in Kendal for one night while doing the Dales Way Walk and were made very welcome at Bridge House. Sheila was more than happy to collect us from the route of the walk and drop us back next morning. The house was beautiful with a lovely garden and we had a delicious breakfast which included fresh fruit salad and yoghurt, home made bread and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.

It was a perfect end to our walk.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2011

I cannot recommend this establishment, or the lady who has created it, highly enough. From the moment I spoke to Sheila on the telephone to when I left The Bridge House, she was friendly, helpful and went out of her way to make my stay wholly positive. Every aspect of this wonderful place makes the visitor feel relaxed and comfortable.

I stayed in a twin room, which was spotlessly clean, warm, and stocked with lovely books about the Lake District and Lakeland life. The room itself was very elegantly decorated, and I had a very good sleep, despite having to attend an interview the following day. The breakfast was magnificent, with all manner of tasty things. If you are staying in Kenday, do not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed here whilst walking the Dales Way. Sheila picked us up from Burneside to save an extra two miles walking, and dropped us back next day for no extra charge. Extremely friendly and helpful, beautiful old house, lovely breakfast with home made bread and preserves. Good advice offered on eating in Kendal. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westgate1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#12 of 14 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House B&B

Property: Bridge House B&B
Address: Castle Street, Kendal LA9 7AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bridge House B&B Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing