We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Bridge House B&B

Bridge House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridge House B&B
Ranked #11 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed here for one night mid week. Beautiful bedroom with lovely view of the railway. No trains run at night so had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was delicious-freshly made bread was fantastic. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask to see the garden!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixinnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Bridge House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

We wearily arrived at Bridge House having completed 3 days of the Dales Way. Shelia greeted us with tea and home made flapjacks (superb). One of our party had injured his foot so Alan set about treating, and repairing the affected ankle. The house itself is beautiful - a wonderful example of late Georgian early Victorian architecture situated just outside Kendal town centre. (5 mins walk) Rooms are spotless as is the whole house. Shelia even offered and washed our mud caked walking clothes!

Our host recommended and booked a terrfic little French (ish) restaurant / bistro - Deja Vous in the town centre. Excellent food and superb value for money. Breakfast is fantastic - great freshly baked bread with home made jams. In the morning we were dropped back onto the Dales Way with foil wrapped flapjacks for the day ahead.

I've stayed in possibly hundreds of B&B's / hostels around UK & the world over the years and in terms of hospitality this is the best. I'd have no hesitation recommending this B&B to anyone I know. Shelia & Alan thank you both very much - and we did manage to finish the Dales Way - thank you John , Phil & Karl

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Clean and comfortable bedroom (with tea/coffee making facility), welcoming and very helpful owner, delicious breakfasts prepared to order, central location (and convenient for the railway station). There's also a guest lounge and a lovely secluded garden. Very reasonably priced too. Heartily recommended.
Philip, W. Sussex

Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank MintCakeBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Booked 3 rooms for 1 night en route to Scotland. Big house, comfy beds, great full breakfast and extremely gracious and helpful owner (and only 1-2 weeks after her hip replacement - I was VERY impressed, as I work in an Orthopedic hospital). Would recommend to others, especially walkers or cross-country skiiers - she knows the area VERY well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

we recently stayed for 1 night and found the room to be comfortable with all the necessary amenities. we had a lovely cooked full cumbrian breakfast including fresh fruit and delicious home baked bread. Would highly recommend this family run B & B!
Gaynor and Ernie, scarborough

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank argentgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

From the moment we arrive Sheila and Alan were very friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious, clean and cosy with lots of local books to to wander through. Breakfast was cooked superbly to order and while waiting we tucked into the home made bread and preserves and fresh fruit salad. The garden was lovely to relax in before we attended a wedding. It was like staying with and Aunt and Uncle who have a lovely house who you don't see often and don't want leave when you get there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlaseHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My partner and I stayed at Bridge House for one night on the way north, having chosen it on the strength of the other great reviews. We were warmly welcomed by Sheila, the rooms were comfortable, clean, and well-appointed, and I thought overall very reasonably-priced. I should add, we weren't at all aware of any noise from trains or clocks (our only slight worry after reading other reviews!), and even the road outside didn't bother us during the night. Breakfast was a lovely spread, with home-made bread and spreads.

I would highly reccomend Bridge House B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
428 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
687 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#1 of 42 in Kendal
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House B&B

Address: Castle Street, Kendal LA9 7AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range: £40 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bridge House B&B Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing