We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bridge House B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$196
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
US$60
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$114
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
85
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadkendal mint cakechocolate coveredlittle extrasexcellent facilitieson arrivalperfect hostscomfortable roomtea and coffee making facilitieshome from homeexcellent breakfastalanaccommodationensuite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We had 3 nights staying at the Bridge House with wonderful hosts Sheila &Alan. We had their daughters bedroom which was very tidy and comfortable,the water and Kendal mint Cake was a pleasent surprise.The trains were no trouble as they did not run through the night. Sheila greeted us each morning with a delightful breakfast and homemade bread.Our visit to the UK was for 38 days mostly staying in B&Bs and would highly recomend staying here. Thank you Sheila & Alan -Robert & Sheryl (New Zealand)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed here for one night mid week. Beautiful bedroom with lovely view of the railway. No trains run at night so had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was delicious-freshly made bread was fantastic. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask to see the garden!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixinnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We wearily arrived at Bridge House having completed 3 days of the Dales Way. Shelia greeted us with tea and home made flapjacks (superb). One of our party had injured his foot so Alan set about treating, and repairing the affected ankle. The house itself is beautiful - a wonderful example of late Georgian early Victorian architecture situated just outside Kendal town centre. (5 mins walk) Rooms are spotless as is the whole house. Shelia even offered and washed our mud caked walking clothes!

Our host recommended and booked a terrfic little French (ish) restaurant / bistro - Deja Vous in the town centre. Excellent food and superb value for money. Breakfast is fantastic - great freshly baked bread with home made jams. In the morning we were dropped back onto the Dales Way with foil wrapped flapjacks for the day ahead.

I've stayed in possibly hundreds of B&B's / hostels around UK & the world over the years and in terms of hospitality this is the best. I'd have no hesitation recommending this B&B to anyone I know. Shelia & Alan thank you both very much - and we did manage to finish the Dales Way - thank you John , Phil & Karl

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Clean and comfortable bedroom (with tea/coffee making facility), welcoming and very helpful owner, delicious breakfasts prepared to order, central location (and convenient for the railway station). There's also a guest lounge and a lovely secluded garden. Very reasonably priced too. Heartily recommended.
Philip, W. Sussex

Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank MintCakeBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Booked 3 rooms for 1 night en route to Scotland. Big house, comfy beds, great full breakfast and extremely gracious and helpful owner (and only 1-2 weeks after her hip replacement - I was VERY impressed, as I work in an Orthopedic hospital). Would recommend to others, especially walkers or cross-country skiiers - she knows the area VERY well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews