We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mr Blyth Barrow in Furness”
Review of Bridge House B&B

Bridge House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridge House B&B
Ranked #13 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mr Blyth Barrow in Furness”
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

First class , lovely room , excellent breakfast, home made bread jam etc, morning newspapers that personal touch you don't get at hotels from the minute that you arrive till the time you leave .Two minutes stroll from Kendal town centre via the River it was truly a wonderful experience .One that my wife and I highly recommend.no car parking but free parking available right across the street
You will not be disappointed !!!!!.........................................................

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Crawford B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
33
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed at this B & B on our way back from a holiday in Scotland and were very happy with the quality of service we got. We arrived late Friday afternoon, so were very happy that we could be accommodated at such short notice. The room was neat, tidy and comfortable and the little extras, such as bottles of water and kendal mint cake were very thoughtful and much appreciated. Will come to how we slept later!! The breakfast was delicious, with home made bread, jams and marmalade and a good sized full english, with cereals, toast and fruit as additional options. We found Sheila to be very warm, friendly and accommodating and able to recommend things to do and see whilst in the area, so overall, we would easily be able to recommend this B & B to others.........however, there is one point that would stop this B & B from getting 10 out of 10- the chiming clock!! We were unaware of it until we were woken at three am by very loud chiming and then heard, four o'clock, five o' clock, six o' clock and seven o'clock chimed and then decided to admit defeat and get up! A shame and I am sure many people sleep through it, but it did feel like we had the clock in our room!

Room Tip: Ask where your room is in relation to the clock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeka72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Sheila collected a wet and bedraggled pair of Dalesway walkers. What a great B & B. Spotlessly clean, great shower, comfy beds. The breakfast is the best! Good recommendations for eating out in the evening. Our wet clothes were washed and dried and we can not thank you enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crusadetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed for one night near end of Dales Way walk. Very comfortable room in beautiful house. Wonderful breakfast set us up for final day's walk. Sheila very helpful - picked us up, dried boots, washed socks and made good recommendations for eating out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edenholme54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Walking the Dalesway, this proved to be an excellent one night stop. Sheila kindly picked us up at Burneside and then delivered us back the next day. Most professionally run and well used to the needs of walkers. Our room provided everything we needed and breakfast was the best of the walk, lots of home made items. The assistance given could not have been bettered.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Some B&Bs are a little unsure about walkers or cyclists who are stopping for just one night on their route because it's more work for single nights plus they might arrive wet/muddy. Not here!

The welcome is friendly and genuine, coupled with an amazing helpfulness with offers of washing, bike storage, etc. The house is as lovely as the welcome is warm. There are lots of useful and kind touches in the room including toiletries and Kendal mint cake. Also nice is that there are books that may be of interest to visitors, e.g. Dales Way textbook and History of Kendal.

Definitely a B&B to be recommended - the best of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

3 of us were walking the Dales Way and stayed at 6 different,B&B, Pub, Inn accomodations. We can only re-iterate all the positive things others have sais about this professionally run, friendly and customer centric accomodation. Nothing was too much trouble, Details and personal experiences of local pubs restaraunts were provided as well as any thing else we needed. The atmosphere was relaxed and everything worked like clockwork.

The house / rooms are in excellent condition and everything you would expect from a high star rated hotel.

Truly was way beyond expectations. If your ever in the area look no further for great quality at a reasonable price

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#12 of 14 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House B&B

Property: Bridge House B&B
Address: Castle Street, Kendal LA9 7AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bridge House B&B Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing