We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens
Ranked #16 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Don't expect 4* luxury, this is an 18th century Coaching Inn. We had a large comfortable room, it was somewhat shabby but very clean. The staff were helpful and friendly. There was plenty of tea and coffee in the room and also toiletries. The afternoon tea was fine, a couple of ham sandwiches, a cake and scone with clotted cream and strawberry jam. It was part of the deal and I wouldn't have wanted to pay £10 for it. The breakfast was excellent and we ate there both nights and the food was very good but not cheap and the drinks were expensive but this is the lake district. I would certainly stay there again if I could get a similar deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margho_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    73
    49
    20
    28
See reviews for
46
135
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here 7-8 Aug on a Groupon Deal. £89 for two nights B&B for two people with afternoon tea on one day. Was a bit apprehensive after reading mixed reviews, but needn't have worried!
We chose to have our afternoon tea on our arrival after a long drive from South Manchester. Sandwiches, scones, cakes and tea were well-presented and very welcome, sitting in the bar, looking out onto a lovely country lane.
Our room was cosy and spotlessly clean. Rather dated décor, but it kind of "fits in" with the countryside surroundings. We were very impressed with the big corner bath, although the "avocado" colour scheme in the bathroom could do with a bit of modernising, as could the somewhat dribbly shower, but there was plenty of hot water for the bath, and nice complimentary toiletries; and a big hot bubble bath was very welcome indeed on our 2nd evening, after a good long walk around Windermere!
As the hotel is in a somewhat isolated location, we chose to eat our evening meals there (rather than drive elsewhere and not be able to enjoy a drink). The evening meals were very nice indeed; good choice on the menu and excellent food. We enjoyed all our meals, including the breakfasts, which filled us up for the whole day (give or take an afternoon ice-cream...)
Would definitely consider staying here again if another Groupon deal came up at a time of year to suit us. The location is ideal for driving to many different places. We visited Grange-over-Sands, Lake Windermere and Kendal, and stopped off at Arnside, Milnthorpe and Morecambe on the way home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyberspacekadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Having read some reviews on this site, I decided out of desperation to give it a try, but having checked in (luckily early), I couldn't wait to get out of there. Smelly, dark, dingy and not clean. The first room they showed me was small. The bathroom had no mirror over the basin and the light didn't work either. The second room was smaller and the bathroom with mirror was so small, only one person could get in there at a time. The whole place just wasn't good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traff111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thegilpin, Manager at Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
We apologize for your bad experience with us at The Gilpin Bridge. The problem with the room has since been solved.
Also, please note that the second room you stayed in was a single room, for a single person.
Kind regards
The Gilpin Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kendal hotels

Hyde
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

On arrival the chap very helpful with our luggage. Our room a twin, very clean so that's a plus, but in room 3 there's a fan noise going constantly so it keeps you awake at sleep time, the walls to next room very thin so can hear them talking n banging about, (8am I heard it all) and all water pipes you can hear. All these noises makes a tired person very annoyed. The breakfast very nice n served hot. Staff very pleasant n helpful. We are on a KGB OFFER so price reflects what you get, wouldn't be happy if paying the normal price they charge. Would I come again ? When it's had refurb n sorted out somw of the issues i mentioned then possibly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daprgp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akyaka, Turkey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just had afternoon tea as above well what can I say,the worst you could have £20 worth, we had dried bread with a bit of cheese, the Pimms were OK, my husband was driving,no offer of tea,( as in afternoon tea ) staff were rude locals asked why I was taking a doggy bag home!!! Not for us to eat it was for the the dog,left it on the bar for them as they looked like they were hungry like the reviews stay away,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAMROD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights via Groupon, would definitely not recommend this hotel. On booking the room we were advised there was no doubles left but they could make it up as a double when we arrived room still set up as a twin, room was very basic, very small, decor very outdated with damp on the ceiling, could hear the man next door snoring. Staff in-fighting not good. Breakfast was good and location are the only good things about this hotel. Ronbinsons do not have a good name and can see why.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anneadams156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a 2 night break at Gilpin Bridge. Nice clean room, comfy bed, lovely food and the staff were very helpful. The afternoon tea was very nice, accompanied by a glass of Pimms. We will definitely be looking at staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayleighAnne1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
5.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
5.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.0 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
4.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
7.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens

Property: Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens
Address: Bridge End Cottages | Levens, Kendal LA8 8EP, England (Formerly Gilpin Bridge Hotel & Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From beginning of November 2015 the Gilpin Bridge Inn has been taken over by locals & we plan to put this Inn back on the map. We have 8 letting rooms all with ensuite. A function room for your parties, meetings etc. A great selection on our menus both lunch & evening and on a Sunday we serve a traditional sunday lunch which can be accompanied by a cheeky pint or maybe a cup of coffee. When visiting you will only find the staff with a big smile, a great sense of humour & more than happy to help you so please visit & make yourself at home in our traditional country inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Bridge Hotel And Inn
Gilpin Bridge Hotel Kendal
Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing