We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens
Ranked #13 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Gilpin Bridge 28/29th August on a KGB deal.
As previous reviews the food is of a very good quality ( Thanks to Dave the chef ) All the other staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful .
The hotel and the rooms ( Although a little dated ) are clean and serviceable
The same can't be said for the bathroom and shower !!!! A mere trickle of water , As for the bath " A horrible SHI--Y brown colour ?? This might have been the in colour to have in the 60/ 70s
Staff problems on the Thursday, NO waiting staff for breakfast so the chef had to cook and serve breakfast !!!
Another staff problem on Thursday, NO cleaning staff consequently our room ( or any of the others presumably ) wasn't serviced !!!
The above was reported to Adam ( The Manager ) on departure and he did apologise .

Would we stay again ....... YES if another convenient deal came up .

Room Tip: Room 5 is supposedly the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    76
    49
    21
    28
See reviews for
48
140
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

food is of a very good quality and is locally sourced. Rooms very comfortable but the shower appears to have a mind of it`s own. The lamb henry is especially recommended.
No noise from the main road near by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Accommodation as so often is lacking in many areas. Very small double room.Sliding door to bathroom would not stay shut. Shower useless,hose broken. Requires makeover but still charge top price.
Breakfast service appalling. You could wait nearly 45mins before being asked whether you want tea/ coffee,no dishes for cereal ,no menus for breakfast, Flies landing on food stuff. When juices ran out no one bothered to refill them.
Quality of food very good once served and staff very friendly but why seek customers on Groupon and then give them a poor experience? Surely they want repeat business but we would not stay again!!!

Room Tip: Not sure about this,photos look ok but dreadful when you arrive. Room 2 has constant road noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SAW1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kendal hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Don't expect 4* luxury, this is an 18th century Coaching Inn. We had a large comfortable room, it was somewhat shabby but very clean. The staff were helpful and friendly. There was plenty of tea and coffee in the room and also toiletries. The afternoon tea was fine, a couple of ham sandwiches, a cake and scone with clotted cream and strawberry jam. It was part of the deal and I wouldn't have wanted to pay £10 for it. The breakfast was excellent and we ate there both nights and the food was very good but not cheap and the drinks were expensive but this is the lake district. I would certainly stay there again if I could get a similar deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margho_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here 7-8 Aug on a Groupon Deal. £89 for two nights B&B for two people with afternoon tea on one day. Was a bit apprehensive after reading mixed reviews, but needn't have worried!
We chose to have our afternoon tea on our arrival after a long drive from South Manchester. Sandwiches, scones, cakes and tea were well-presented and very welcome, sitting in the bar, looking out onto a lovely country lane.
Our room was cosy and spotlessly clean. Rather dated décor, but it kind of "fits in" with the countryside surroundings. We were very impressed with the big corner bath, although the "avocado" colour scheme in the bathroom could do with a bit of modernising, as could the somewhat dribbly shower, but there was plenty of hot water for the bath, and nice complimentary toiletries; and a big hot bubble bath was very welcome indeed on our 2nd evening, after a good long walk around Windermere!
As the hotel is in a somewhat isolated location, we chose to eat our evening meals there (rather than drive elsewhere and not be able to enjoy a drink). The evening meals were very nice indeed; good choice on the menu and excellent food. We enjoyed all our meals, including the breakfasts, which filled us up for the whole day (give or take an afternoon ice-cream...)
Would definitely consider staying here again if another Groupon deal came up at a time of year to suit us. The location is ideal for driving to many different places. We visited Grange-over-Sands, Lake Windermere and Kendal, and stopped off at Arnside, Milnthorpe and Morecambe on the way home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyberspacekadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Having read some reviews on this site, I decided out of desperation to give it a try, but having checked in (luckily early), I couldn't wait to get out of there. Smelly, dark, dingy and not clean. The first room they showed me was small. The bathroom had no mirror over the basin and the light didn't work either. The second room was smaller and the bathroom with mirror was so small, only one person could get in there at a time. The whole place just wasn't good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traff111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thegilpin, Manager at Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
We apologize for your bad experience with us at The Gilpin Bridge. The problem with the room has since been solved.
Also, please note that the second room you stayed in was a single room, for a single person.
Kind regards
The Gilpin Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

On arrival the chap very helpful with our luggage. Our room a twin, very clean so that's a plus, but in room 3 there's a fan noise going constantly so it keeps you awake at sleep time, the walls to next room very thin so can hear them talking n banging about, (8am I heard it all) and all water pipes you can hear. All these noises makes a tired person very annoyed. The breakfast very nice n served hot. Staff very pleasant n helpful. We are on a KGB OFFER so price reflects what you get, wouldn't be happy if paying the normal price they charge. Would I come again ? When it's had refurb n sorted out somw of the issues i mentioned then possibly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daprgp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
5.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
4.1 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
5.1 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
4.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
7.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens

Property: Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens
Address: Bridge End Cottages | Levens, Kendal LA8 8EP, England (Formerly Gilpin Bridge Hotel & Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From beginning of November 2015 the Gilpin Bridge Inn has been taken over by locals & we plan to put this Inn back on the map. We have 8 letting rooms all with ensuite. A function room for your parties, meetings etc. A great selection on our menus both lunch & evening and on a Sunday we serve a traditional sunday lunch which can be accompanied by a cheeky pint or maybe a cup of coffee. When visiting you will only find the staff with a big smile, a great sense of humour & more than happy to help you so please visit & make yourself at home in our traditional country inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Bridge Hotel Kendal
Gilpin Bridge Hotel And Inn
Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing