We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens
Ranked #11 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous get away”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Gilpin Bridge Hotel & Inn, and I would like to thank Terry and all his staff for a great couple of days. They made us feel so very welcome and went out of their way to pander to our needs.
The food was exceptional and the room was clean and warm, just the thing when you get back from a cold walk in the hills.
We met some lovely people in the bar and the whole atmosphere was one of relaxation around the fire.
I would recomment the Gilpin Bridge Inn to anyone and we will definately return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    78
    50
    21
    29
See reviews for
51
143
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at the Gilpin for 2 nights after buying a deal from deal monster. Yes the Inn/ Hotel could do with a refurb and is a little dated but its clean the staff are friendly and the rooms were well equipt and for me thats what its all about. The only complaint was the shower in the room which had no power but with a bath in the room there wasnt an issue. Breakfast was lovely with ample choice and afternoon tea that came with the deal was a lovely suprise. We ate at the Gilpin both evenings and that was very nice. The staff and chef were very accomodating. Its quite remote so you are limited in the evening but the pub is pleasant enough to have a drink in and there is a pool table and games that you can help youself too. Its onky 10 or so minutes from Kendal and 20 from Bowness. Its a pleasant base for staying in this area and well worth the Deal x

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy77777777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed with friends for a 2 night break booked through deal monster in February. Sounded like fantastic value for money - 2 nights bed & breakfast including afternoon tea on arrival. Arrived around 4.30 & checked in with no problems. Room was small but very clean & comfortable. Spent the first night having dinner in the bar & drinks. Staff were extremely friendly. After spending the day in bowness we decided to eat in kendal that evening but everywhere seemed to be fully booked. As it was getting quite late we phoned the hotel to see if it would be possible to still eat there. This was no problem & the manager said he would tell the chef we were on out way back. Breakfast was excellent in both days with plenty of choice. Wouldn't hesitate to book another deal monster offer here again. All staff very helpful & nothing too much trouble. Only let down was the showers, not very warm & pressure was quite low

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allykerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

its a shame when the owner of the gilpin bridge inn seems hellbent on putting himself out of business , he wont listen to his staff or customers .
stayed three nights in jan , rooms very cold , which spoilt the stay completely , staff were great , food good , but if you continue to ignore peoples legitimate complaints , they wont come back or recommend a stay at the lakes new ice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vince1234403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kendal hotels

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I went to the Gilpin Bridge Inn on a 2 night midweek trip with my boyfriend. We arrived around 2pm and checked in before going straight out again. The manager checked us in and explained about breakfast etc but didn't tell us one of the keys was to get in a main door if the bar was closed.
The room was ok at first glance, if a bit dated. However the towels were so old and small I wish I'd brought our own. It was also freezing cold, no heating on at all. As we were going straight out we weren't too worried at the time. There was a lot of dust on everything and bottom sheet on the bed was too small, although the bed was comfy. As there were only 9 rooms I was quite shocked it was not clean. The soap holder also fell off the bathroom wall.
After getting back late afternoon we went to the room and it was still freezing. We had to ask for the heating to be put on.
We ate in the actual inn the first night and the food was lovely, as was the service of the staff. The next morning we woke up and no heating on again! I don't know why this is not on a timer?
Breakfast was delicious, we both had the Cumbrian full breakfast. The selection was very good, also included smoked salmon and scrambled egg (which I had the following morning) and a continenatal option.
Day 2 was better with the heating, it stayed on until we went to bed around midnight but was not on again when we woke up. As breakfast is served from 8am, to not have heating on at that time was not acceptable as it was very cold trying to get showered and dressed.

We went on this trip using an online voucher and for that reason only it was good value. The offer included afternoon tea which we never actually got. We asked for it on day 2 but there was no one in to make it!. If you go using this offer I would suggest checking in before 5pm and taking the tea on day one.

I am easily pleased when visitng hotels as I hardly spend time actually in the room, in UK and abroad. So long as it's clean and the bed is comfy. I wouldn't go back here, even on an.other offer

Room Tip: The location is good, prety close to Kendal and Windermere. Also easy to get to from M6
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debbiedoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padanaram Forfar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Booked a 3 night stay at the Gilpin Bridge Hotel and Inn which was listed as 4 Star, the four star appears to be self assessed, well I would rate it a 1 possibly 2 star.

We arrived at 6pm, we were told the bathroom light was faulty, this should have given us a warning, our room was no 8, we went to our room and opened the door, the room was very small, the room was very cold, the heating had been turned off, the room was clean, but the bedding couldn't be called "crisp", the pillows were flat and all miss-shaped, there was only one towel in the room, taking this all in mind went for dinner, after a nice meal and a great chat in the bar with a lovely couple we returned to our room at around 10:30pm.

The heating was on but it wasn't cozy, it was just warm, going to bed the sheet and duvet felt very cold, in fact they were damp and wet, I couldn't be bothered going back down to the bar to complain, so slept with my dogs blanket, which was freshly washed and clean covering me and tried to get some sleep and I can confirm others comments the walls were thin as appear and I could hear everything from the room opposite, the couple had a great night!!!!!

I hardly slept as the toilet shaving light was fixed on all night and due to the noise from next door, on getting up I went for a shower, it didn't work, I knew the water pressure was low as the loo took ages to flush and refill also the sink water pressure was low and took ages to heat up, so having no shower we went for breakfast to be told that they had a problem with the gas supply and couldn't offer a hot breakfast, what next! We were offered scrambled eggs beans and sausages, well my wife is allergic to butter so we asked and were told the eggs were made fresh and could be made with marg, so she ordered that, I ordered the all three, on being served the meal the eggs were not freshly made, they were cold and greenish in colour, yuck! My beans were just warm and the sausages were cold so we both left the breakfast offering and went back to our room an decided to checkout!

I reported to reception or in other words the bar and spoke to a lady called Pauline who was very apologetic and also one of her staff was also there and was upset at our experience, we were offered an other room but I refused, and asked for a credit and was given it without a problem, the evening before we had put our meal and drinks on our room tab, so I expected that to be added to be added to our bill but it wasn't and the girl who was AT&T he bar came out to find me to,tell me the mistake, on checking the refund we were charged in full for the room and breakfast!

I was also offered a free nights stay by Pauline if we ever wanted to try them again at a later date, sorry Pauline one visit to the Gilpin Bridge Hotel and inn was enough! but thanks for the free offer!

Wouldn't recommend a stay here at all unless it is refurbished. One thing I will say as others have is that the staff are brilliant and friendly, nothing was too much bother for them!

Room Tip: If you so visit don't ask for room 7 or 8 or be prepared to listen to your neighbours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

we arrived here on thursday for a two night stay and recieved a very warm welcome from the young lady on duty .. we found the manager and staff were very friendly and helpful .( nothing was a problem for them) although the accomadation could do with an update , the room was very clean and the food we had was first class and well presented . we really enjoyed our stay here and plan on returning the next time we visit the area . ( keep up the good work and thank you for a pleasant stay )

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
5.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,015 reviews
5.1 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
502 reviews
4.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
672 reviews
7.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens

Property: Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens
Address: Bridge End Cottages | Levens, Kendal LA8 8EP, England (Formerly Gilpin Bridge Hotel & Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From beginning of November 2015 the Gilpin Bridge Inn has been taken over by locals & we plan to put this Inn back on the map. We have 8 letting rooms all with ensuite. A function room for your parties, meetings etc. A great selection on our menus both lunch & evening and on a Sunday we serve a traditional sunday lunch which can be accompanied by a cheeky pint or maybe a cup of coffee. When visiting you will only find the staff with a big smile, a great sense of humour & more than happy to help you so please visit & make yourself at home in our traditional country inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilpin Bridge Hotel And Inn
Gilpin Bridge Hotel Kendal
Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing