We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$418
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$405
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$133
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
US$93
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$192
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
109
85
54
23
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
85
54
23
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeef stroganofffish cakesfor sunday lunchgarlic mushroomsbit datedpiethe pubsouth lakesnice mealan updatenight stayan evening mealfull englishwarm welcomecar parkbarrowbowness
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here for one night in March 2014. We found the staff very friendly and the food delicious. The breakfast was lovely and great value. The room was a little dated but for a night or two that didn't matter as the price was very good. The room was spacious and clean and had a good size TV. The bathroom was clean though the bathroom suite was very 1980s. The location is ideal for the South Lakes - very close to Kendal and about 10 miles from Bowness. Its just off the A590 so easy to travel to and from yet its so peaceful you feel you are in the heart of the Lakes.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trekkin Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed at the Gilpin Bridge Hotel & Inn for 2 nights in room 6.

Bad Points:

The room was very small.

The en-suite bathroom is very dated, as previous reviewers have mentioned the shower is very temperamental, the water pressure is very low and the shower water keeps going on and off during the shower also running hot and then cold as well, making a VERY unpleasant experience!

You can hear the toilet being used in the adjacent room (not a good thing!)

When we arrived there were no towels in the room and we were told that they were in the tumble drier and would be ready before bedtime!

The beds are VERY soft and as we were in a double room, the slightest movement by either of us caused a tidal wave in the bed!

We were promised cream tea on arrival but were told they had no scones, so we were given some cherry bake-wells with a pot of cream (not a normal combination)


Good Points:

Good English breakfast.

Good location to visit the Lakes area.

Nice beer in the pub

Good car park next to the Inn.

Very friendly.

As the tittle of this review says, it could do with an update, particularly the rooms/en-suite.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Davidandtracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Recently purchased 2 nights stay with breakfast, afternoon tea and wine via groupon. The room was small and cold, the bathroom dirty and the plumbing is definitely not up to standard as the showers were weak and the toilet didn't flush properly. Stayed in room 7 and the noise from the opposite room was unbearable due to a guests loud snoring all night, could hear everything from the opposite room so clearly it was embarrassing and made you feel like you could not speak late on in-case you woke anyone else up. The location is isolated and a bit of a journey into Windermere. The food, however, was ok and the staff very friendly. We did not get afternoon tea on either day and it seems to me that you have to ask about everything you get on these groupon vouchers otherwise you wont get it. The bar was closed at 10PM on both nights and on the second night another guest threw stones at my window to alert me that they were locked out the hotel at (11PM) otherwise they were going to sleep in the car, it was freezing and wet and the other guests seemed a little traumatized. It seems to me the owners have no heart left in the place and that they don't care what experience its customers have.

Room Tip: Do not get room 7
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a deal for £79 which gave us afternoon tea and two nights b/b.
Lovely welcome from Martin who was standing in for the owners,he was very helpful getting our luggage to the room and arranging for us to have afternoon tea in the bedroom at 5.30.
This comprised of fabulous ham and smoked salmon sandwiches,as I don't eat either of those Martin made me cheese sandwiches which were lovely,there was also scones with butter and jam and lovely chocolate fancies.
The bedroom wasn't massive but the beds were comfy and it was very quiet being at the back of the hotel.
Breakfast was great tasty porridge,various juices,we had milky coffee and then you had lots of choice off the full English menu.I had scrambled egg with fabulous eggy bread.
Our waitress was lovely and nothing was too much trouble.
We had a lovely journey on the A6 to the hotel with glorious sunshine.
Saturday was equally as sunny and we went to Broughton on Furness to our favourite cafe/bakery,they were in the final of the Best British Bakery and everything they make is superb.
We went to Barrow then Ulverston great views and lambs in the fields,a great round trip with a fantastic view of the hills.
The Lakeside and Haverthwaite railway is not far from the hotel.
Kendal is also a nice ride away and you can go through the Lythe Valley,then the Damson Dene which takes you to the back of Bowness.
A very good place to stay with lots of places to visit.
We had a lovely meal in the hotel restaurant,plenty of choice and good quality food.
Breakfast was as good on Sunday but after we went straight home as it was pouring down.
A big thank you to Martin for all his help,to Amy and Annie and Diane in the restaurant.
Hope you have a lovely wedding on Tuesday Marie,a lovely lady who helped out and we enjoyed talking to very much.
Recommended

Room Tip: Overlooking the small static caravan park is very quiet For people who prefer to be on the ground floor perhaps the manager could rent out one of the two bedroom static caravans,just a thought !!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaLa1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Gilpin Bridge Hotel & Inn, and I would like to thank Terry and all his staff for a great couple of days. They made us feel so very welcome and went out of their way to pander to our needs.
The food was exceptional and the room was clean and warm, just the thing when you get back from a cold walk in the hills.
We met some lovely people in the bar and the whole atmosphere was one of relaxation around the fire.
I would recomment the Gilpin Bridge Inn to anyone and we will definately return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews