We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!”
Review of beijing house

beijing house
Ranked #93 of 148 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Kendal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We order some food last week and we were pleased about the tasty food . It was over our expectation. Its true that the delivery was late but it worths waiting. Istead of eating microwave foods, I happily choose beinjing house.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamess1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    25
    14
    7
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over 2 hours for delivery”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Took well over 2 hours for luke warm food that was avrage at best order was wrong rung them 3 times last time was to complain and they said next time we could have a free sauce and prawn crackers didnt bring us the right ordered stuff woudnt waste my time or money on them again poor service avrage food thay was just warm

Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“cancelled order due to terrible service”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We've had two large family meals recently and the food and service were good. The restaurant itself isnt very nice and it's damp and very grim upstairs but we started using the takeaway. However the girl that served us was as miserable as sin, thats fine she may have been having a bad day, but as she could not manage to say please or thank you either i thought plain rude. I asked for a refund and went over the road to golden boat. There it was excellent food and service with a smile. Cheaper and free prawn crackers too! Our future business is with them now.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrspink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Appalling customer service!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just waited over an hour for food- had to ring up to find out where it was and was told another 10-15 minutes even though i was quoted 45mins. No attempt to contact me or to compensate me! good until it is under stress

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,203 reviews
521 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,221 helpful votes
“Still excellent value”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

I spend most weekends in Kendal and Beijing House is both convenient and excellent value. The owners and staff are always pleasant and nothing is too much trouble. Today I chose a main course of beef in a yellow bean sauce with cashew nuts and boiled rice. This was piping hot, tasty and the portion size was good. All of the usual (western) favourites are on offer, including crispy duck with pancakes and a good choice of meat, fish and poultry dishes to suit most tastes. There are a fair number of tables arranged over two floors and booking is not always necessary, although the restaurant can get quite busy at weekends, so better to be safe than sorry. Popular with families, parties etc. Also does takeaways, with a delivery service, if required.

Helpful?
4 Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed beijing house also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to beijing house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing