We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer for dogs best friend too”

Watermill Inn & Brewing Co.
Ranked #7 of 153 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Coulonges, Poitou-Charentes, France
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great beer for dogs best friend too”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

A lovely unspoilt pub that caters for dogs and serves food all day. Great selection of beers and lovely atmosphere, even at 4pm midweek! We had a very late lunch of sandwiches and chips and found the bar person very smiley and chatty. Thank you for a lovely stop off.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    181
    51
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good English Pub Food”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is a real picture book brew pub. The food offered is typical of English pubs: Good and more than enough. The individual rooms of this pub have their own different atmosphere and all are comfortable and have an old world charm.

This pub is very popular and gets crowded easily. Don't miss the local beer. It's great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny19039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly.”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed in Ings for my honeymoon (Burbank Apartment) which I must also add was excellent. I went to the Watermill twice. The first thing I noticed was that it was extremeley traditional and cosy with a beautiful warm open fire. The atmosphere was great and the staff polite and attentive. Dogs are welcome which I never see in Blackpool where I'm from but was a lovely touch. However, the dogs are only allowed in certain places so if your not so dog friendly you can sit seperatley. They do some ales which they brew in the Watermill themselves. I didn't try them as I'm not fond of ale but a lot of people commented saying they were nice. The food was really yummy and great portion sizes but can appear pricey if your not from the Lakes. Worth every penny though! It is worth visiting the Watermill if you want a friendly pub. The locals are also very nice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem.”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We loved this place when we visited - good location - excellent service - good staff - friendly & polite - food was stunning and the beer has a taste to die for - brewed onsite..this is a great place to visit as its a hidden gem - you won't be disappointed in anyway. We will be back very soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchie246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good ales, good food”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed at the Meadowcroft and visited this establishment for food and ales. Food is ordered up at the bar. Food was very good, service was ok. Waiter did actually ask us if we wanted a starter just as we were finishing them! Local ales was good, tried their most popular ones but can't remember what they were called. Dogs are allowed into the left hand bar/ room and all were very well handled and looked after.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank stuinwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Watermill Inn & Brewing Co. also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Watermill Inn & Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing