We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another fantastic break at this stunning cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dinva4
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Another fantastic break at this stunning cottage”
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The break at this stunning cottage was just what we needed. Everything we needed for our weeks stay. Christine, David & Family along with Pip & Tug the dogs made us feel welcome again. The location is beautiful, the cottage us amazing and homely & cosy.

We will definitely be back again soon !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Grayrigg Foot Stable. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in this little gem of a cottage and highly recommend its peaceful and beautiful location.
It is great to hear you will definitely be returning and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
samuelska...
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights at this gorgeous cottage and can not fault it in any way. It was spotlessly clean with lots of lovely touches like the famous scones and flapjack, fresh flowers and sweets. Beds were really comfortable and showers were great. Christine and David are lovely and really friendly. We will definitely be back (if they'll have us!!)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at Grayrigg Foot. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timgubbin...
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gem in the Lakes”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Wow!!!! What a place. Quite frankly I don’t know where to begin with my praise for everything we experienced from beginning to end. From the goodies and little extras you wouldn’t expect, to the very comfortable quality furnishings and fully equipped kitchen, the fabulous conversion of the previous buildings into this marvellous cottage making this a real gem of the cottage holiday rental market. The views, the animals, the surroundings, the little stream running by, I could go on and on. Idyllic. If this wasn’t enough Christine and David were superb hosts. Access to the Lake District is right on your doorstep and plenty of information available in the cottage to plan your days. We will definitely be back, but for longer next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Fantastic review

We cannot express how delighted we are that you had a very enjoyable holiday at Grayrigg Foot Stable. Thank you very much we look forward to your return x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lardys
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Nicest holiday rental I have stayed in! Highly recommend!”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I stayed here for a week with a colleague when working in the area.

I cannot recommend this place enough. Eggs, scones, biscuits and snacks were left out for us.
Perfect decor, beds and sofas were very comfy, excellent showers, well equipped kitchen.
The owners were very friendly and helpful.

I would love to stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Grayrigg Foot Stable. We are delighted you had a fantastic time and highly recommend it to others. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F1zzg0g
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tranquil”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a beautiful rental property. Just over 10 minutes from the centre of Kendal to reach. The property was very comfortable and clean. High quality furniture and fittings with lots of extras you don't normally receive in a private rental (condiments, cleaning products, shower gels, soaps etc...). Situated on the owners' farm, Grayrigg Foot Stable was a great base to explore the Lake District. We visited Kendal, Kirkby Lonsdale, Cartmel, Bowness-on-Windermere, Windermere, Sedbergh and The Lakes' Aquarium - the furthest only being just over half an hour away. It was a real treat to find warm scones and flapjacks on our arrival - together with milk and fresh eggs from the farm's chickens. The owners Christine and David were really lovely people and we enjoyed meeting the family's dogs too! The garden looked out onto a stream (a nice place to sit with a glass of wine listening to it!). Although there were no shops in the little village, Morrisons and Aldi were less than 10 minutes away to stock up on shopping - although we did enjoy eating out on our trips. Sticky toffee pudding is a must at Cartmel! We also enjoyed Pumpkins Bistro, Baba Ganoush, Brew Brothers and The Bakery at No. 4 in Kendal town centre, The Kings Arms in Cartmel does a lovely Sunday roast dinner too! Smatt's Duo Café Bar and Bistro in Sedburgh is also a recommendation. We had a thoroughly relaxing break in a great place! Thank you for great holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality accomodation in a centrally located base
Liked least: Lack of phone signal for most of trip (02's fault!)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Grayrigg Foot Stable. We are delighted you had a thoroughly relaxing break at this beautiful property. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all pretty perfect
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Grayrigg Foot Stable. We are delighted you found this cottage perfect and had everything you needed for your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing