We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford
1 review
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

An excellent stay. Made to feel very welcome by very friendly owners. Good sized, comfy room. Top class breakfast made with quality local ingrediants. Close to town so perfectly placed for a night out without a long walk home.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben_1977Bedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    35
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
102
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

We had a very pleasant two night stay at Hillside. We were given a warm and friendly welcome and a parking permit which we used for the duration of our stay. The room was clean and tidy and suitably equipped to meet all of our needs. We choose the full English breakfast option each day which was well cooked and very tasty. The accommodation is close to the town centre which has a good range of shops and places to eat. If you are visiting the Brewery Arts Centre as we were then this accommodation is a good option as it is only 4-5 mins walk from the venue. We would definetly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulharrison58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

Made to feel very welcome as soon as the door opened.
Room was very clean and fresh. Well set out with ample room.
Bathroom was clean and roomy
Breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice. fresh and tasty.
Owners were very friendly and welcoming
We will visit again.
Thank you

Room Tip: Book early as i would imagine it will be in demand
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevz1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

Mt wife and I stayed at the Hillside for one night and found it to be a very pleasant with the room being clean and well appointed. Our hosts gave us a warm welcome and produced a fine breakfast which was much appreciated.

In conclusion we were pleased to have chosen Hillside B & B as it was situated close to the town centre and afforded us a good quality stay in all area's.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethShorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

Richard & Wendy welcomed us warmly. The en-suite accommodation in their large Victorian (?) house was warm, spacious, quiet & comfortable with a digital Freeview TV. The friendly & thoughtful hosts provided a delicious breakfast, keys to outer & bedroom doors - so there were no restrictions - and helpful advice about the town & surrounding area. They also provided a residents' parking permit for nearby free on-road parking; most of this is a short but steep climb uphill, hence the slightly lower rating for location, although the house is very handy for the town centre (a short, steep descent on foot takes just a few minutes) with lots of facilities including nearby pubs, restaurants & shops.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNige4560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

Pretty little place up a very steep hill with parking along a couple of nearby streets. We stayed in the top floor room with gable ceilings. Clean, tidy, spacious. We would have loved to have stayed longer but it was only a one-night stop. The high street is only just down the hill with a slow climb back. Very informative, friendly young hosts with a small child.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

We were attending a concert at the excellent kendal brewery arts centre on nov 12th so we booked one night at the hillside.The B&B was spotless and the hosts made us feel welcome giving us a few tips about kendal town centre,we would not hesitate to stay again at the hillside the next time we visit the excellent town of kendal.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redroseWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 Beast Banks, Kendal LA9 4JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Hillside, a small family run Bed & Breakfast in the historic market town of Kendal in Cumbria. Set in an elevated position within Kendal’s conservation area, Hillside B&B is just a couple of minutes walk (200 Meters) up hill from the town centre. Awarded a Visit Britain 4 Star Rating, Hillside offers six en-suite guest bedrooms where we hope you will enjoy a restful night. You will find Hillside an ideal place for exploring the ‘auld grey town’ and both of the beautiful Lake District and Dales National Parks or as a base for business stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hillside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Bed & Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing