We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$421
US$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
US$105
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$133
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
US$101
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$196
US$188
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
217
36
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
36
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bparking permittown centrenearby streetsgreat local knowledgesingle roommarmaladeroad parkingfriendly hostsa couple of minutes walkexcellent breakfastonly stayed one nightwarm welcomecumberland sausagelovely roomexcellent locationcooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Was on a flying visit on a Sunday evening. Property is on a steep hill with no parking, although hosts give you permit to park nearby. There are steps to the property - neither a problem to me - but worth bearing in mind if not mobile. I had a lovely room - double used just for me, with lovely bed and a seating area - really comfortable. Lovely to have nice biscuits and a wee piece of Kendal mint cake - nice touch. Slept well. Shower powerful. Nice breakfast with vege options. I had bacon and poached egg (no black pudding :( ) toast with locally made marmalade. Didn't get much of chance to speak to host at breakfast, however, on leaving got a good chat. Obvious he knows the area really well. I suspect he could give you suggestions for whatever kind of holiday you are looking for. I would go back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErniH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed two nights during September 2013 while on a short walking break. The hosts were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good. There is a walk down and then back up the hill so may not be perfect for the less mobile. The one negative for me was the en-suite shower room. It was crammed in and as such very little room to move; had to hurdle the toilet to get to the shower. The room was also a bit small for us. Nevertheless a nice place to stay and good value for money. A good selection of drinks and milk was provided in the room - some places I have stayed give you a lot less. Very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psycho72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We looked for a room on Laterooms late at night the day before, as we were attending a function at Kendal golf course and decided last minute to stop over. This B+B was advertised as 4* and was reasonably priced so we booked. What a find!! Was within a 5 minute walk from our destination, the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in, a large, nicely decorated room, huge fluffy white towels, big bathroom, comfy bed and a lovely breakfast cooked to perfection by Richard, the friendly proprietor! Recommended wholeheartedly!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Wales. Small room in what felt like an attic. No real amenities and the bed was a double-size; too small for two adults. Service was minimal; this is just a room in someone's house. There is no parking, so you park in a fairly crowded residential area. Breakfast was good. It is a place you might spend a night as a stop-over, but we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob94010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our stay was only short however we were greeted with a friendly smile and well looked after. The accommodation was very comfortable, extremely clean with modern bathroom and amenities. Rooms were a good size. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of variety. A short walk down the hill into town where the owner can suggest some restaurants for dining. We can recommend and would stay there again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Raina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews