We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We booked Hillside last minute so that we could go to a wedding in Kendal. I wasn't sure what to expect, having not stayed in a B&B for a very long time. But from the moment we arrived we felt so welcome. It's on a hill from the town centre. We arrived later in the evening in the dark and rain but it was easy to find. There's an obvious sign. Found somewhere to park and then Richard gave us a parking permit so we could park closer by.

We picked the smaller, cheaper, room. It was a nice size and was very cosy. Felt at home immediately. Toilet was described as compact, and it is! But we weren't bothered as felt it was described fairly online.

Breakfast was delicious with a range of options. On the first morning we both had poached egg on toast. Yummy! The dining room was immaculate, and the whole B & B was pristine clean.

Richard was an excellent host. He was polite and friendly and gave us some really helpful information, without even having to ask. We just felt so welcome. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runclimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    36
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
102
44
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Excellent location, close into a large town between Lake District and Dales National Parks. Great hosts Richard & Wendy, with deep local knowledge they enjoy sharing with guests, and a flexible approach to helping their guests in any practical way. Clean, well-equipped rooms in a late 19th century town house. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Clean and tidy. Staff were very warm, friendly, welcoming and proactively helpful! Delicious breakfast.
Would have liked a larger single room :). Was a pain to walk uphill sometimes but not enough to deter me from returning. Thankyou, Richard and Wendy for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russrashid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at Hilside as we were going to the Hawkshead beer festival. The b & b is central to kendal with many restaurants and bars just a stroll away. We stayed in the superior double ensuite room, which had a lovely large shower room. Richard and Wendy were very welcoming, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: superior double ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank croberts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

As a single lady traveller, I'm concerned when booking new accommodation. You allayed all those fears. A warm welcome, a warm room, I'll be booking with you next time. The other reviews 're location and amenities are accurate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stagegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Thanks for making me very welcome and for your consideration throughout my stay. I thought the accommodation was excellent, a great breakfast and felt that nothing was to much trouble for Richard & Wendy. Thank you for arranging an extra night's accommodation for me so I could stay for an excellent day's walking.
The rooms were spotless and well decorated/furnished. Lovely comfortable beds, I slept well. The venue is great, literally a couple of minutes walk from Kendal centre, with lots of places to eat, drink or shop.
If you are stopping and want to exit Kendal to the north, do ask Richard or Wendy for the shortcut that cuts out the one way system!
A great location for access to the southern Lake District, I strongly recommend Hillside. I hope to ne back soon for another visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

In my time, I have stayed in many hotels, guesthouses and B&B's, all of which had good and bad points, but I simply cannot fault Hillside. The location is great for exploring the town, being a very short walk away from all the amenities. There was a warm welcome from owners Richard and Wendy, and even though there was a full house, you got the impression that nothing was too much trouble. Richard offered help and advice on restaurants and daytrips in the area. His local knowledge is extensive, and he even loaned us a road map of the Lake District.
I booked the twin room, which was warm (on a very cold night), and spacious. Both the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. I have to say that the beds were very comfortable, and both of us slept really well. High quality tea, coffee and biscuits were provided, along with hot chocolate and Kendal mintcake.
We came down in the morning to another cheerful greeting from Richard, and a delicious breakfast, again using high quality and locally-sourced produce. It was also interesting to learn from talking to the other guests, that for several of them this was a return visit - always a good sign.
This business deserves to succeed - Richard and Wendy really care about their guests, and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 Beast Banks, Kendal LA9 4JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Hillside, a small family run Bed & Breakfast in the historic market town of Kendal in Cumbria. Set in an elevated position within Kendal’s conservation area, Hillside B&B is just a couple of minutes walk (200 Meters) up hill from the town centre. Awarded a Visit Britain 4 Star Rating, Hillside offers six en-suite guest bedrooms where we hope you will enjoy a restful night. You will find Hillside an ideal place for exploring the ‘auld grey town’ and both of the beautiful Lake District and Dales National Parks or as a base for business stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hillside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Bed & Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing