We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we were superbly looked after”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Nigel went the extra mile for my 3 friends and I when we stayed with them for 1 night while walking the Dalesway.
Nigel very kindly collected us and dropped us back off at nearby Burneside to enable us to continue our walk without the need for a taxi.
Breakfast was great and rooms were fine. All in all a great choice for Dales wayers

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshire2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2009

Excellent and freindly service. very good town center location with parking. Very clean.Room / bathroom in need of update

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cragghopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

If you want a good b & b in Kendal then the Hillside Guest House is the place to be.
The only draw back is a steep hill, but as long as you don't have any disabilities, then you have nothing to worry about. There is a welcome seat half way up, which we used. We also noticed that the taxis were busy bringing people up from the town.
We had a twin room with facilities and it was lovely. The tea/coffee basket was well stocked with everything you could wish for, including great biscuits!
The breakfasts were fantastic, beautifully cooked, plenty of hot toast (more if you wanted).
The hospitality we received was second to none, they were always willing to help in any way. I would certainly stay here again if I visit the area in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnshireVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

As the last stop on the Dales Way this was absolutely wonderful; clean, nice, a shower to die for and very helpful staff. I can highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiddlywink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank blitz801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PanduSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Gwenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1.2 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
556 reviews
0.9 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
The Glen Guest House
The Glen Guest House
#3 of 42 in Kendal
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4 Beast Banks, Kendal LA9 4JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range: £85 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Hillside, a small family run Bed & Breakfast in the historic market town of Kendal in Cumbria. Set in an elevated position within Kendal’s conservation area, Hillside B&B is just a couple of minutes walk (200 Meters) up hill from the town centre. Awarded a Visit Britain 4 Star Rating, Hillside offers six en-suite guest bedrooms where we hope you will enjoy a restful night. You will find Hillside an ideal place for exploring the ‘auld grey town’ and both of the beautiful Lake District and Dales National Parks or as a base for business stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hillside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Bed & Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing