We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riversleigh Guest House

Riversleigh Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riversleigh Guest House
Ranked #25 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is very clean and comfortable accommodation with a lovely, friendly and helpful landlady. It is very central within easy walking distance to the town centre. An excellent full English breakfast is provided. I can highly recommend this charming B&B for very good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Helpful?
Thank thesongbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of June. Pam is a fantastic host and a wonderful cook! We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts. Like the rest of the guesthouse, the room was spotless & although on the front of the building was very quiet at night. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again. One tiny niggle, was that the ensuite was a bit small for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CityBreaksBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The Riverleigh guest house is lovely, rooms are spotless with tea and coffee kettle, towels everything you need, great location to get around kendal and not to far from the centre ideal to walk to and from, the breakfast was lovely full english yum, Pam was a great host nothing was a trouble for her. Great stay will defo go back again. :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend. The guesthouse is spotless and the breakfast was fantastic. Pam the owner is really accommodating and helpful.
The location of the guesthouse is less than half a mile away from the town centre with free secure parking at the back. The location makes it ideal to explore the castle and Kendal town centre, but also lends itself to explore other surrounding areas.
Highly recommended.... We will definitely be back. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed there for four days in June, 2012.

Pam King, the owner, has been 22 years in this business, and she does it very well. The B&B is very clean, the food excellent, the service very friendly, and the prices reasonable.

Please note three possible drawbacks for the superannuated (i.e., older people): Our mattress was slightly too soft for our aging backs. Also, it is a bit of a winding climb to the third floor (that's the second floor to Europeans) and a walk of somewhat over 1/2 mile into town. The latter two were not problems for us, but might be for others.

Kendall's one-way street system has been rightly described as "diabolical," so I recommend that anyone coming in or out of town from this B&B access and leave it via the A6 from the south, irrespective of whether coming from or going to the north or south. From there you can easily pick up the A591 in either direction.

I strongly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed with Pam for 3 nights on our trip to Scotland and we were pleasantly surprised by both the room (no 5) and the service and breakfast we received. We also stayed on our return from Scotland for 1 night in room (no 1) equally as good. We would certainly have no hesitation to recommend this Guest House

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pensi0ners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

I stayed here for the Kendal Torchlight Festival (highly recommended) with my teenage niece. We had a twin bedroom; had to share a bathroom/shower along the landing, which was fine for us. Nice, sizeable room; sink, tea/coffee makings, tv, quiet (though its on the main road into Kendal, the guest house is on a small veranda above the road so noise is minimal) The breakfast was very nice (im veggie and was catered for), the company lovely (we met some repeat guest who had been coming for over 20 years) and its only a ten minute walk into town. I would recommend it as an inexpensive place to stay, particularly for older guests, small families etc.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank dilanroj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sundial Guest House
#9 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highgate Hotel
Highgate Hotel
#26 of 42 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Romneys Apartments
Romneys Apartments
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Punch Bowl
The Punch Bowl
#19 of 42 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riversleigh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversleigh Guest House

Property: Riversleigh Guest House
Address: 49 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Hotel Class:3 star — Riversleigh Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Riversleigh Guest House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing