We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location good bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“good location good bar”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed here coming for a night out in bootleggers. Got here at 6.0 but no parking available. Managed to park overrunning double yellow lines on street but managed to move it later. Smart hotel with real nice bar with good selection of real ales and wines all good quality. Met our friends in bar and had meal prior to going out. Food ok but certainly nothing special. Other nicer places to eat in Kendal . Didn't stop for breakfast because of reviews so went down street to spoons which not great, but you know what to expect at about £4 which is more competetively priced. Will be staying here again twice prior to xmas but will watch reviews to see if food has improved.

Room Tip: rooms on front r still quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    389
    130
    39
    25
See reviews for
365
458
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The hotel itself is in a great location for Kendal centre. Myself and my friend stayed there during August for one night. Although there weren't many parking space, I had no problem parking, there were always 2 or 3 spaces free.
The things that put me off were that when we checked in, someone had been to the toilet and not flushed it (therefore making me think it hadn't been cleaned at all before our arrival), there were quite a few long dark hairs stuck in the bath and the headboard was extremely sticky (so much so it was a bit grim leaning against it). I mentioned it to reception on leaving and was told they were aware of the sticky headboards and that they would look into why the toilet had been used. Also - the air conditioning system is obviously controlled centrally as it was extremely warm in the room but despite lowering the temperature on the control panel, nothing happened.
All in all, having stayed in a number of Premier Inn hotels in the past, the standards in this one seemed to be much lower so I would probably choose another hotel to stay in if I visited Kendal again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We were greated with a warm welcome, albiet a bit fake. The room was fresh, clean and had everything we needed. The kettle was handy, the shower was lush, toilet was a bit dirty and had a random piece of noodle behind the lid. The best part of the room was the soft sheets, the worst parts were the hard bed (the single bed was soft, though), draft from the window, automatic air conditioner (was freezing enough already), uncomfortable cot (travel cot with thin mattress - they should buy proper cots with thick mattresses for babys comfort), broken door (had to keep going back for new keys), dull lighting, lack of soap in the dispenser (was filled the next day though) and the awful prices for WiFi (£5 for 1 hr, £10 for 1 day!)

The restaurant next door, Table Table, is ridiculously priced. The Premier breakfast is worth it because you get your full breakfast plus as much toast, crumpets, fruit, yogurt, cereal etc that you want, plus decent tea, coffee or orange juice. We had a Sunday Roast and compared to a Crown Carvery in Windermere (20 mins away), the meal was small, luke warm, not all you can eat and I only got two slices of meat instead of three. The price of that, plus a tiny pudding (5 profiteroles and some sauce, but not much.) which was plenty for me but for the price it was not worth it at all. It cost almost £5 for two glasses of Pepsi which had a lot of ice in it (the small pieces that you end up choking on when you're trying to drink the Pepsi).

We were only told about the car park issue two days before we were due to arrive, and we'd booked a non-refund stay so couldn't even cancel to get our money back. You need to display the car park situation better. It's just lucky we were staying the weekend when it's free, but there weren't any places available and had to risk it and park on the side of the road - luckily we weren't fined.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a 'view' of a carpark, and a bright orange light comes on at night. We heard drun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becker_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Must stay place in Kendal. Hospitality is great and location. Must recommend for family or individual.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank achary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This may be the only chain hotel in central Kendal. Make sure that you do your research as there are quite a few independents around.

There are MAJOR parking problems with this hotel.

The hotel is very modern, and has a "Table Table" brand restaurant attached to it. The room was entirely lit by brilliant white LED lighting so felt very cold as any form of mood lighting had been completely disregarded. The room and bathroom were both faultlessly clean and there was no noise apparent from the corridor or outside. Breakfast was very good.

Things that would make me avoid the place if I could:
- Parking problems: there are just a few spaces outside with a constant fight for spaces. The sma;; "car park" is pay and display though free after about 6pm, but you've still got to be up early to feed the meter. There are a few spaces on the road leading to the hotel, but you've got to get up early to move the car as it is "1 hour, no return within 1 hour" after 8am. The hotel has an arrangement with Cumbria County Council to use their staff car park overnight (a few minutes walk away) but you've got to get your car out by 9am. If you have a car, expect a battle and no lie in!
- Reception is regularly unmanned. Sometimes pressing the button will summon someone but not always.
- Premier Inn choose not to offer smoking rooms. There is no sheltered smoking area, and Kendal is not known for unbroken, warm, dry weather!
- There are no telephones in the rooms. We were advised at check-in that if we have any problems, we are welcome to make the effort (perhaps in the night) to come down to reception to tell the staff. If you're woken up in the night by a noisy neighbour, expect to have to get dressed and make your way down because they choose not to give you a phone!
- Expect a very curt response from a man who seemed to be the bar or duty manager if you ask for drink after public closing time as a resident if it doesn't suit him! It does apparently suit him at weekends.

This place definitely needs some competition from the other chains! Especially for all their unhappy smoking customers!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepiemanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Would go back again very soon. Place was spotless and value for money only downer was cold baked beans at breakfast. Supper was great though, again staff were so refreshingly cheerfull and helpfull.

Room Tip: Great location to tour from and also see the town its self.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed for 2 nights, staff reserved disabled parking bay which was very helpful with the wheelchair.
Good clean rooms, breakfast very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisepaulbarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
1,003 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#5 of 14 in Kendal
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kendal
486 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
664 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Address: Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kendal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#3 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kendal Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Kendal
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing