We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

When we arrived the reception was very busy but when we got there the receptionist was very friendly and apologised for the wait. The room was very clean with tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. The price is ok but we have yet to find a room for £29 that they advertise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

820 - 826 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our two day stay in Kendal was excellent begining with the booking and through to checking out.The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful especially when a family health problem happened. The room was clean and very comfortable, everything was provided that we needed except for one thing, only one chair to sit on.Food in the restaurant was average to good but the service was fine. staff very helpful in helping us find our way around Kendal and how to get out(bad one way system). Will stay here again next time we come to Kendal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginaabram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Arrived, good and secure parking with £5 for 24 hours reasonable. Very helpful in the reception. Room very clean with excellent facilities. Room lovely and warm and quiet in the evening. Bathroom very clean, extra pillows etc.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gaz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The hotel is in an ideal place for the town of Kendal or visiting the many other towns or villages in the South Lakes. The hotel itself is clean and tidy and the staff are really friendly and helpful, I've read the other reviews on the car park and yes it is a bit small but had no issues no matter what time of the day it was. The attached pub(The Wakefield Arms)was exactly what you should expect from a chain and to be fair they were also friendly and the food wasn't bad but good and quick. My review is based on a 4 night stay in March 2014 so not really the busy summer months.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terang72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Overall the hotel was fine, usual Premier Inn style of bedrooms.

Parking is a bit of a challenge so for those visiting for the first time, if there's non available in the front of the hotel, go past the attached Wakefield arms, turn right into the county offices and park in the car park (at the weekend) opposite the police station. Apparently free.

Air conditioning in the room didn't work, and lack of soap in bathroom dispenser.

Now to the restaurant called the Wakefield Arms. Disappointing all round with poor service and pretty average food. First of all the restaurant blamed the hotel for not telling them that we'd booked a table, and so sat us in an area cornered off because they did not have enough staff to use all of the restaurant, although it appeared fairly busy. We waited for a round of drinks that eventually arrived after a prompt after we'd finished our main meal. Again we had to remind them about dessert. Then in the morning, I could not help notice the sign in the lift referring to "crispy bacon" and "sizzling sausages". The bacon and sausages were frankly anaemic looking. The scrambled eggs just looked horrid and again a complete lack of service (far from the positive service experienced at Loughborough on the same trip). It was a waste of money so I really hope that the hotel takes note!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tycariadus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Spent two nights here and had a great stay in a very clean environment, good location and ideal for the town centre. The staff at reception were lovely and very helpful and always had a smile! Thank Sam for your help and the curry house was brilliant! Ate also next door at the Table Table and that was OK although we did think the portions were very small for the price.
All in All a very good stay and hopefully we will be back one day to do it all over again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Really friendly welcome at reception, usual Premier Inn rooms. There is a pub/restaurant on site which you don't have to actually leave the building to get into it. Good location for walking around Kendal but limited car parking which you have to pay for. There is free parking a very short walk away.
Breakfast is available in either Continental buffet style or eat as much as you like cooked breakfast.
The only problem we had was an evening meal where 11 of us including children were served in 3 distinct separate servings and we're convinced that 2 of the meals were actually forgotten about.
Some of us were nearly finished while others waited for their meals.
Other than that I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToonBarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,068 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.0 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel

Address: Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kendal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#3 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: £47 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kendal Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Premier Inn, HotelsClick, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Kendal
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing