We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Overnight stay...”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped over in Kendal's Premier Inn on the way down south to break up a long journey. Found the hotel really clean and pretty modern, the rooms were fine for an overnight stay with everything that we required, beds were really comfy.To be honest I reckon £5 for 24hrs parking is acceptable especially as we got a great deal on the hotel. Didn't eat in the hotel but had a couple of beers, the restaurant area was nice and staff chatted away with us.Would definitely reccomend this Premier Inn.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank newmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    382
    128
    39
    23
See reviews for
356
455
39
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

As with most Premier Inns it does what it says on the tin. Clean rooms plenty of hot water etc etc. This one is a bit odd for a couple of reasons. Firstly parking - what a nightmare. The car park appears to be a Premier Inn car park - it is however a council car park with all th charges that go with it. £5 to park overnight. Also there are far fewer spaces than there are rooms in its neighbouring hotel so there is a constant jam of people trying to get a space. For the disabled there are about 8 disabled spaces which are frequently taken up by able bodied drivers. And Kendal is a nightmare to get around and find other spaces so - DRIVERS BEWARE !
Secondly, many of the rooms ( if not all) have windows which can not be opened. Therefore you end up in a room which is spectacularly stuffy. Granted, they all have air con but it is relatively ineffective and does not provide fresh air. I was unfortunate enough to suffer from 24hr flu whilst there which resulted in a room that was "rank". The hotel claims that non opening windows are for security reasons but I have stayed in many premier inns and they have all had opening windows , even on the ground floor.
And finally a slightly pedantic point but I was a bit peeved when charged for a cup of coffee in the restaurant in the morning. I had not booked breakfast but having spent the best part of £300 for 3 nights, I don't think that a free coffee in the morning is too much to ask. So all in all, not fantastically impressed !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fredqdrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just returned from a lovely 2 night break at the Premier Inn, Kendal. Quiet location but an easy, short stroll to the centre and the shops etc. Our breakfasts and evening meals were well cooked and served by attentive staff. The restaurant is large but cosy as it is cleverly laid out into areas suitable for guests' various needs (couples up to large family groups). A peaceful hotel, a calm dining atmosphere and good value for money food, what more could you wish for on a short break away from home?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Churchtownman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Have stayed in a number of Premier Inns over the years and this is amongst, if not THE best have stayed in. Clean, modern, refurbished and centrally located. Perfect for the Lake District.

Room is very good for a Premier Inn. As with all premier inns, you wouldn't stay in the room too long as not designed for that. But v clean, good layout and excellent bathroom and tv.

Hotel also has vending machines, books available, and is handily attached to a Table Table restaurant. Main Street of town is 2 mins walk.

Parking not as bad as people make out IF you plan well.

Would highly recommend, espicially since excellent rates available in the sale on websites seasonally.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Good location in the centre of Kendal, great service, clean & comfortable rooms but no longer competitively priced at more than £100 for an advanced purchase saver rate on Saturday excluding breakfast

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbri4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst attending a Harley Davidson Rally in Kendal. Room was very quiet, clean & comfortable. Staff were very friendly and very helpful.Good location, lots of shops, restaurants etc on the doorstep. Everything you would expect a Premier inn to be. Highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Its in a great position on the edge of the southern lake so we stayed three nights. Its not cheap at this time of year but worth it when they are good like this one. Reception was pleasant and helpful. Bedroom looked just done out and the shower - brilliant!
The continental breakfasts were of the usual high standard. The only trouble is no real ale next door so had to go elsewhere for our evening meals. Parking is costly at a fiver for overnight.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunnsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
6.0 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.3 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#12 of 14 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
22.9 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Address: Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kendal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#3 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kendal Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Table Table restaurant for a fresh new twist on eating out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Premier Inn and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Kendal
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing