We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tranquility at Labbay
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$419
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$406
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$133
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Kendal(Kendal)(Great Value!)
US$101
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
14
1
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
1
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and are glad we did! Although it was in the middle of nowhere with very narrow lanes leading to it, it was easy to find. The location was beautiful, surrounded by fields full of spring lambs. There was a local pub located about 1 mile away which we walked to on both days for evening food.

The B&B itself was run by a very friendly couple who made us feel extremely welcome, and gave us informaion about local places of interest and how to get there. The room that we stayed in was awesome! (Crosthwaite Suite). A sleigh bed and the most amazing shower ever! Not to mention a double bath and his and her's sink, also thought the underfloor heating in the bathroom was a nice touch. The entire room was perfectly clean and had everything in there that we needed.

Breakfast. Where do we start! Absolutely brilliant! 2 courses which leaves you full for the whole day - really no need to have dinner. There was also a lot of choice for breakfast which would suit everyone. We'd definitely recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to stay in the Lake District, and we would definitely like to return at some point!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_Rowberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I can only repeat what recent reviewers have written. Success comes from experience and attention to detail and that is what you find here. Sometimes it is what is missing that makes a difference. Here it is the absence of irritating signs and instructions. No do's and don'ts. You are being looked after but you feel that you are at someone's very fine home.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpbeebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Amazing - We chose Tranquility at Lab Bay for our 1st Wedding Anniversary having read the reviews from other travellers. The sceptic in me thought that it probably wasnt going to be as perfect as it looked - I was very wrong!
It wasnt that hard to find - a little off the beaten track but that all adds to the magic feel of the place.
The welcome couldnt have been warmer and we were made to feel at home from the moment we walked through the door. The property has clearly had a huge financial investment and the decor and grounds are not only tastefully decorated but are extremely generous in their offering.
The lounge was superb with the most amazing views and our room was simply stunning.
Trevor advised us on local pubs and eateries and after a stroll to the local pub for a lovely meal, we were greeted with a glass of celebratory champagne on our return - a really thoughtful touch.
We slept so well that we struggled to rise for breakfast - although we are glad we did - amazing! Spoilt for choice and it was absolutely delicious.
Trevor was a generous and welcoming host and we want to move in and live there! We wont just recommend Tranquility - we will be back. A wonderful memory for our 1st anniversary - we couldnt have wished for more.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel directly to book for best options
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wannabe1day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

This is such a lovely place in terms of location and the B & B itself. Easy enough to find, we arrived having easily followed the directions and received a warm welcome with tea and biscuits in the beautiful lounge area complete with amazing views.
Our bedroom was extremely comfortable (awesome bed) and had a very luxurious bathroom with enormous bath and a steam shower etc. We wanted a quiet and relaxing stay and that was exactly what we got. There are pleasant walks in the area and I think Windermere is the closest of the Lakes, although we lazed around too much and didn't have time to go! Oh, and a top breakfast too with a really good choice of tempting options. Hope very much to return at some point.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank posyprejudice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We wanted a getaway for a few days so booked this hotel as a last minute find. We wanted somewhere quiet, but still not too far from civilisation. All I can say is this was exactly that.

We arrived on Thursday for a two night stay and were welcomed and shown around. We were asked our plans for the night, a meal in Kendal, and I asked for any taxi numbers. Within five minutes of meeting us Trevor said that if we wanted to leave the car in Kendal he would drive us in the next day. This is always a good start.

Breakfast - Spot on. My wife does not eat much breakfast as a rule but the two courses provided here were polished off fully. The breakfast was as good as the previous nights meal.

I even made a mess of the payment details, even though I had been sent an e-mail explaining everything. That was also no problem. We were asked to just send a cheque when we got home, even though we had said we were visiting family before getting home.

Overall excellent and we will be back for the views in the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpwhitu0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews