We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude owner and overpriced”

Tranquility at Labbay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tranquility at Labbay
Ranked #37 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Beautiful area and nice place to stay but was completely ruined by the rudeness of the owner. She was extremely unhelpful, not friendly in the slightest and I would never stay here again. Room was £165 but I would say it was not worth anything more than £100 maximum. Service and manners are just as important as the room and facilities and the landlady of Tranquility certainly lacked both.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sal1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

My plan was to arrange a surprise weekend for my wife in the beautiful Lake District. I was aiming for a relaxing break with a touch of luxury. After researching a number of hotels in the South Lakes, all with some disproportionate price tags for the service being offered I found this absolute gem. A B&B does not do this place justice. It is tucked away in a hidden valley of the Lake District which people usually miss whilst travelling to Windermere or Coniston.
When we arrived the welcome was warm and the room, the Crosthwaite Suite, was fantastic. Spotlessly clean, a bathroom which is the size of some of the B&B rooms we have stayed in previously, a queen size bed and period furniture, combines the modern with a touch of romantic chic in perfect proportion. The lounge just adds to the experience, it is beautifully furnished and the 6m panoramic windows draws you into the spell-binding scenery on offer. Then there is the breakfast, locally sourced produce makes the flavour of the full english breakfast divine. There are 2 courses on the menu. On the second day I had the Royal porridge with Drambuie cream and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, beautifully presented.
There is not a bad word I can say about our stay and the owner, Joan, is all you would expect. Welcoming, helpful and easy to talk to. We wish her the best and ongoing success.

Room Tip: Honestly, all have beautiful views and each have their own unique character. The Levens Superior Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank passinsd517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My wife an i stayed here on our wedding night an all i can say is that the place is absolutly perfect an we cant wait to go back,the owners trevor an joan are very welcoming when you first arrive an they keeps things on a very informal basis which is really nice,we only stayed for the one night so we only had time for breakfast in the morning which was delicous an the room that we stayed in was absolutly fabulous,definatly going back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I took my finace away for the night after our engagment and having a hectic week prior. The b&b was great and exactly what we needed. The views were second to none and Trevor and Joan were great owners and were very helpful and pleasant. One night was just not enough. We will definatly be back, no questions asked.(the punch bowl pub @ the bottom of the road was amazing for food aswell)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moore1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Myself and my partner stayed at Tranquility for a night and from the moment of our arrival, we experienced nothing but welcome and peace. We were greeted by Joan who lead us into the beautiful lounge, the view from the window was like no other, just rolling hills of countryside! We were briefed and then pretty much left to make ourselves at home, it was so relaxing and perfect for a private getaway. Our Croswaithe suite was warmly decorated with modern furnishings, very well finished and comforting. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic too. Trevor was extremely personable, the owners' excellent hospitality has made us want to return. This is the place to go if you need to escape from life's stresses and/or spend quality, quiet time with a partner.

Top tip: Evening meals are not provided, so make sure you book a table at a local restaurant of choice as soon as you arrive, as Kendal town restaurants seem to get booked up quite quickly, especially on a Friday and Saturday night.

Room Tip: Make sure you take a good book/magazines and take snacks in case you get peckish throughout your sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and are glad we did! Although it was in the middle of nowhere with very narrow lanes leading to it, it was easy to find. The location was beautiful, surrounded by fields full of spring lambs. There was a local pub located about 1 mile away which we walked to on both days for evening food.

The B&B itself was run by a very friendly couple who made us feel extremely welcome, and gave us informaion about local places of interest and how to get there. The room that we stayed in was awesome! (Crosthwaite Suite). A sleigh bed and the most amazing shower ever! Not to mention a double bath and his and her's sink, also thought the underfloor heating in the bathroom was a nice touch. The entire room was perfectly clean and had everything in there that we needed.

Breakfast. Where do we start! Absolutely brilliant! 2 courses which leaves you full for the whole day - really no need to have dinner. There was also a lot of choice for breakfast which would suit everyone. We'd definitely recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to stay in the Lake District, and we would definitely like to return at some point!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_Rowberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I can only repeat what recent reviewers have written. Success comes from experience and attention to detail and that is what you find here. Sometimes it is what is missing that makes a difference. Here it is the absence of irritating signs and instructions. No do's and don'ts. You are being looked after but you feel that you are at someone's very fine home.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpbeebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
2.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,087 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Underbarrow
47 reviews
4.2 mi away
Eagle & Child Inn
Eagle & Child Inn
#1 of 2 in Staveley
174 reviews
6.9 mi away
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility at Labbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility at Labbay

Address: Lab Bay, Kendal LA8 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Tranquility at Labbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility At Labbay Hotel Kendal
Tranquility At Labbay Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing