We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place!”

Tranquility at Labbay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tranquility at Labbay
Ranked #36 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

My husband booked this B&B last minute over the phone and the owner was so accomodating that he put us in a good mood even before we left our house. The property is beautiful and has been sympathetically renovated and extended. The picture window in the lounge is simply stunning. The rooms are large and extremely comfortable with lovely French style furnishings, soft towels, quality bed linen and full, soft quilts. The bed was incredible, large and firm - the owner clearly knows where to invest his money! The bathroom was also very good with a large walk in shower. The owner is very hospitable and friendly and really interesting too with great local knowledge of where to visit/eat etc. We ate out in the village pub and both the food and the atmosphere were great. Breakfast was also incredible; he has it down to a fine art!! The menu was great with lots of lovely, tempting dishes. I opted for Creamy porridge (so tempted to have the one with Drambuie) and the best Eggs Benedict I have had in a long time - the hollaindaise sauce was very, very good! My husband had the full English and really enjoyed it - not a cheap sausage in sight! What we really liked about this pleace is that the owner obviously enjoys having guests and he was very relaxing to be around - he even showed us some gun dog training with Winnie (who is adorable) this made my day and we left feeling very happy and refreshed. We will definitely go back - I want to stay in the room with the roll top bath! A fantastic find that will undoubtedly get many more lovely reviews.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneyHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

My husband and I chose Tranquility for our first anniversary celebration. We wanted a weekend of rest and relaxation in the beautiful Lake District and were not disappointed. Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by the owner. We were warned that they were having a family get together and that children were staying at the property, which concerned me at first, but we were assured that they would keep the noise down. I noticed in another review from the same weekend that a couple had complained about the noise from the children but we hardly heard them during our stay. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite room as an anniversary gift. It had it's own balcony and fabulous bathroom with a huge bath for two! The nearest town (Kendal) was only a short drive away and there was a lovely pub within walking distance from the property. We had a wonderful weekend and really enjoyed our stay. Many thanks

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrinkingviolet101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This guest house was chosen for a two night stay as a special treat for my girlfriend after a particularly stressful period of time, the idea being to go up to the lakes to rest and relax.

We arrived at the guest house at 9.00pm and were eventually shown to our rooms, what soon became clear is that the owners had arranged a family get together for the same night.
Their relatives arrived later that evening...after that we were woken up by a child screaming and running up and down the wooden stairs by our room, babies crying. Generally any noise downstairs was heard clearly in the bedroom. This went on until after 01.00am.

I was furious and wanted to leave straight away, however being in the middle of nowhere realised this was not an option. We got up as soon as it was light and packed our things to leave. We spoke to the owner as we left complaining about the unreasonable amount of noise and how it had ruined our nights sleep, and that we did not want to stay there another night. They were not very apologetic but agreed that no charge was to be levied for the night stay.

We were so tired that we had to cut short our weekend away and returned home with a very bad taste from the horrendous experience.

I feel that this was a terrible waste of our time and that the people running this establishment need to be more considerate of their guests when planning any family gatherings, the guest house should have been closed to the public.

IT WAS ANYTHING BUT TRANQUIL

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria0711
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2010

My Partner and I needed a break, our baby is due in ten weeks and we wanted to get some rest and relaxation before she arrives. We wanted 5 star luxury, quiet but beautiful surroundings. We found all of this at Tranquility at Lab Bay. The rooms are beautiful, we stayed in the Winster Suite. A large suite with a 4 poster bed and a very modern and comfortable bathroom. The owners are lovely, very friendly, informative and the perfect hosts. Breakfast was delicious and there are 2 courses! The lounge is pretty special, a beautiful fire place with a glowing open fire and an amazing view through a huge window of the Lyth Valley and Cartmel Fell. It really is a spectacular view. We were luck enough to experience a few beautiful sunny days as well as snow, totally picturesque.

I would definately return.and definately recommend this amazing retreat

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.8 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#3 of 14 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
3.2 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Underbarrow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
2.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.2 mi away
Eagle & Child Inn
Eagle & Child Inn
#1 of 2 in Staveley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility at Labbay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility at Labbay

Property: Tranquility at Labbay
Address: Lab Bay, Kendal LA8 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Tranquility at Labbay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility At Labbay Hotel Kendal
Tranquility At Labbay Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing