We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food nice”
Review of Strickland Arms

Strickland Arms
Ranked #29 of 156 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Been a few times food was ok but service slow on a busy night. Best to sit is down stairs. Handy just off the A590

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacquie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, General Manager at Strickland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Many thanks for your review and I apologise that you felt the service was slow when you visited us, we hope that you do visit us again,

Kind regards,

Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

490 - 494 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We went with the family for a meal, there was a large group of adults and children, the staff were very helpful and polite and the food was excellent. A lovely atmosphere. I will definitely be returning and will recommend to friends.

Thank GemGrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, General Manager at Strickland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Many thanks for your review, we love having large parties dine with us and always welcome families. We hope we get to welcome you again soon.

Many thanks,

Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We came here before going to sizergh castle. The lunch food was lovely along with the staff. A must go in before or after the castle visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Summer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, General Manager at Strickland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Many thanks for your review, I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit with ourselves. We hope to welcome you again soon to The Strickland Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Celebrated a 60th birthday here. Very busy with adult parties and families which added to the atmosphere. Thoroughly enjoyed the seasonal, local food except for the sticky toffee pudding which was the only disappointment. Very friendly staff and relaxed, characterful atmosphere. Cost also reasonable. Would happily go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CMRCLSLJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, General Manager at Strickland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Many thanks for your review and I am glad to hear that you had a great time celebrating a birthdays the Strickland arms. I apologise that you felt that the sticky toffee pudding wasn't up to the same standards as the rest of the food and please accept my apologies on this.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

The Strickland arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We had visited Sizergh Castle on Easter Sunday and called in at around 2.30 pm on the off-chance of getting a table.

We were seated straight away and after a good look at the menu and a pint of excellent beer, I had the best pint of stout I've had in years, we had a three course Sunday lunch. We all had the beef and it was excellent and still a bit pink inside.

The service was good, friendly and unhurried. There were games and colouring pencils for the two children, four and seven years old, and we could bring our dog in to sit under the table.

We all really enjoyed our visit and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place. It made the last day of our holiday.

Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, General Manager at Strickland Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Many thanks for your review, and I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We pride ourselves on great food in a family and dog friendly environment. We hope that you got home safely after your Easter break in the Lake District.

We hope to welcome you again soon

Many thanks,

The Strickland Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strickland Arms also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Lancaster, Lancaster District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Strickland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing