We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely find, will definitely be back soon! ”
Review of Levens Kitchen

Levens Kitchen
Ranked #5 of 26 Quick Bites in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £5 - £15
Description: Levens Kitchen is located in the beautiful grounds of Levens Hall. Please check website for latest opening times. CLOSED 1-16 JANUARY. REOPENS 17 JANUARY 2022.
Restaurant details
Description: Levens Kitchen is located in the beautiful grounds of Levens Hall. Please check website for latest opening times. CLOSED 1-16 JANUARY. REOPENS 17 JANUARY 2022.
Reviewed 20 August 2019 via mobile

A friend reminded me about the Levens Kitchen at Levens Hall...it's great, so much better than the previous restaurant.
Imaginative menu, not badly priced. Super scones, cakes and coffee.
Smart, helpful staff. Lovely setting (obviously).
The Kitchen must be hitting other local eateries hard it's excellent.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank R580DJclaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LevensHall, General Manager at Levens Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2019

Thank you very much! We appreciate your lovely review and hope you'll be back soon to sample more from the Levens Kitchen menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2019

Clean, fresh, welcoming, spacious - just a lovely place to eat, inside or out - your choice. The food was fresh and tasty. Nice addition to the gardens and house.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LevensKitchen, General Manager at Levens Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2019

Glad you enjoyed it. Hope you'll visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2019 via mobile

This restaurant has recently opened and uses fresh vegetables from the Hall gardens to make lovely dishes.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank Liza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2019

Had lunch here when visiting Kendal recently. Everything was fine with a great selection on the menu. Very good attentive service. Would definitely return.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Johnlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2019

Sunday lunch and we decided to try the Kitchen at Levens Hall.
Nice bright dining area and interesting menu.
The staff were polite and very helpful.
We had coffee that’s was very good and we ordered the Moroccan Lamb flat bread and the flaked Haddock.
The Lamb had run out, but was offered substituted by beef, this I believe was our problem.
It wasn’t explained wether Moroccan aspect had been substituted for Beef, which I think was the case.
There was no Moroccan flavour and the whole thing was very wet, this left one side of the flat bread soggy and not very nice.
The Haddock was good, although the accompanying poached egg brought quite a lot of water with it and penetrated the sour dough.
There was no check back from the staff, which may be policy I am not sure.
However if I had been given the opportunity to offer constructive criticisms in the conventional way, via a check back, I probably would have dispensed with this review.
I had a good look at the cakes and they looked delicious.
I would definitely try again, although my better half was more dismissive.
Didn’t quite deliver for us, but I strongly believe there is great potential and wish them all the best.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dinnergong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Levens Kitchen also viewed

 
Crook, Kendal
 

Been to Levens Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.