We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great upgrade 👍”
Review of Levens Kitchen

Levens Kitchen
Ranked #5 of 26 Quick Bites in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £5 - £15
Description: Levens Kitchen is located in the beautiful grounds of Levens Hall. Please check website for latest opening times. CLOSED 1-16 JANUARY. REOPENS 17 JANUARY 2022.
Restaurant details
Description: Levens Kitchen is located in the beautiful grounds of Levens Hall. Please check website for latest opening times. CLOSED 1-16 JANUARY. REOPENS 17 JANUARY 2022.
Reviewed 9 September 2019

My wife, her sister and I visited Levens Hall for a day out and we really enjoyed the house and gardens. I have to say the gardens looked fantastic!
But the real difference from last time I visited was the cafe. Long gone had the old one and a new purpose built (but very tastefully built) one had been added. Between us we ate the roasted tomato soup, wild boar hot dog and pepperoni sourdough pizza. All were extremely good quality and most of it not all produce were from their estate. We finished with a millionaires shortbread and slice of cake. All of the food we ate was extremely tasty and I for one have to applaud them for trying something different and new from your usual stately home cafe and for me it’s very welcomed. If all places equal to Levens invested in their cafes as much as what you have done then it would be a great ending to any visit 😋
Well done on the new build, thank you to the kind staff and I look forward to visiting again in the near future.
P.s. just a thought, could you use some of your bee’s honey in the cafe, maybe in little jars! Or drizzled over some of your cakes!! 🍰 🐝 🍯

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Saxton85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LevensKitchen, General Manager at Levens Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2019

Thank you for such a glowing review - we are very pleased to hear that you like our improvements. Using the Levens bees honey is something we are considering but due to the climate here, it means we don't have a consistent supply - which is a great pity as it is SO delicious!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2019

We were delighted with the new cafe, light and airy, tasteful decor, very tranquil, polite and very efficient staff! Interesting, varied menu, what’s not to like. Unfortunately, this lovely place has been discovered by a group of sweaty, lycra clad male cyclists of a certain age. They burst in, shouting to one another down the length of the cafe, congregated in the space between the tables and the counter, hovering over tables of customers trying to ignore them whilst eat their meals! One of them stripped off tight fitting sleeves and swung them around trying to dry them! Having lycra clad nether regions at head height whilst trying to eat poached eggs is quite frankly, down right distasteful! Surely, these “outdoor athletes” should be encouraged to eat outside for reasons of hygiene not to mention common decency!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Sue00do
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2019 via mobile

We had a lovely walk from Levens Hall preceded by morning coffee. First time we've been to the new cafe and were disappointed by the menu. No toasted teacakes, only sourdough bread. We had lunch after our walk and again very disappointed with the menu. Everything was a bit too 'fancy' for our taste I'm afraid. After a 4 mile walk on a cool blustery rainy day we wanted comfort food - not on this menu! One of the party has IBS and cannot tolerate seeds very well - sadly they were everywhere! In the flapjacks, in the bread accompanying the soup, even sprinkled on top of the soup. Please, please, please, can I make a plea for some good old fashioned plain food! Jacket potato, ham or egg mayonnaise sandwiches, just something plain. It is a lovely menu if you like 'tarted up' food but that's not to everyone's taste. A mix of plain and fancy would suit more people. That said, the service was swift and the staff were very pleasant but I doubt we will return.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank U218ALkarenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LevensKitchen, General Manager at Levens Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2019

Thank you for your comments. We understand that any menu is down to personal taste, but there's no getting away from the fact that there is an excellent selection of food to choose from, it is of a very high standard both in terms of quality and presentation, and, if at all possible, we do all that we can to adapt a dish to accommodate any specific dietary requirements … all you have to do is ask the staff, and they will be more than happy to assist you.

We do hope that you will visit us again so that you can enjoy some of the fabulous food that we serve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2019 via mobile

A friend reminded me about the Levens Kitchen at Levens Hall...it's great, so much better than the previous restaurant.
Imaginative menu, not badly priced. Super scones, cakes and coffee.
Smart, helpful staff. Lovely setting (obviously).
The Kitchen must be hitting other local eateries hard it's excellent.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank R580DJclaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LevensHall, General Manager at Levens Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2019

Thank you very much! We appreciate your lovely review and hope you'll be back soon to sample more from the Levens Kitchen menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2019

Clean, fresh, welcoming, spacious - just a lovely place to eat, inside or out - your choice. The food was fresh and tasty. Nice addition to the gardens and house.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LevensKitchen, General Manager at Levens Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2019

Glad you enjoyed it. Hope you'll visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Levens Kitchen also viewed

 
Crook, Kendal
 

Been to Levens Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.