We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !!”
Review of Levens Kitchen

Levens Kitchen
Ranked #5 of 26 Quick Bites in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £5 - £15
Description: Levens Kitchen is located in the beautiful grounds of Levens Hall. Please check website for latest opening times. CLOSED 1-16 JANUARY. REOPENS 17 JANUARY 2022.
Restaurant details
Description: Levens Kitchen is located in the beautiful grounds of Levens Hall. Please check website for latest opening times. CLOSED 1-16 JANUARY. REOPENS 17 JANUARY 2022.
Reviewed 9 March 2020

We decided to head home on the A6 instead of the M6 for a change and of course this took us past Levens Hall and there was a large A board advertising Cafe open and at the last second we turned in and decided to have a cuppa. Levens Hall was closed (opens April)
I digress. What a wonderful restaurant or to give it it’s true name, Leven’s Kitchen.The build, architecture, walls, materials are sympathetic to its surroundings and when you walk in it has a bright airy feel . We were welcomed by a friendly waitress who gave us a choice of tables showed us to our chosen one and left us to settle and peruse the menu. It was when we saw the menu that John suggested we have lunch and I’m so glad he did because the food was absolutely delicious, freshly cooked.
John went for eggs benedict on a muffin and an extra side of fries, where as I opted for buttermilk pancakes with bacon, berries, yoghurt and maple syrup and it was simply the best mix of tastes and textures that I didn’t leave a drop! Likewise John loved his eggs benedict.
When I had gone up to order our food I happened to notice “To-Die-For cakes/traybakes and asked if I could buy to take away and it was a Yes!!
Oh my goodness, the millionaires shortbread and the brownie were sublime but be aware that one cake is enough for two and so you get double the delight!
Congratulations to all involved in Levens Kitchen, we had an amazing experience and will be back on a future visit to my mum’s.

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank holland21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LevensKitchen, General Manager at Levens Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Thanks for the great review! So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2020

Not a big menu but what they do serve is good. The cakes are wonderful and I especially love their cheese scones slightly warmed up. Yum.

Date of visit: March 2020
1  Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LevensKitchen, General Manager at Levens Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Really pleased you enjoyed your visit. We love the cheese scones too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2020 via mobile

First time visit to this place and it was a delight. Like the wait to be seated system then order and pay at the counter. Breakfast dishes, salads, pizza, soup and sandwiches. The cafe layout and decor is lovely. Food was very good, smoked chicken pizza and beetroot and goats cheese salad (2 sizes available). Help yourself to free water. Service was very friendly and food came quickly. I’ll definitely return. Note - closed Friday and Saturday.

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank iand153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2019 via mobile

What a delight to have the chance to attend the supper club “From estate to plate”
The room was decked for Christmas and we ate a festive feast. A delicious amuse bouche followed by honey glazed duck, roasted fig and candied walnut. This was followed by vanilla confit salmon, with yoghurt beetroot and dill. These dishes were more tasting dish size but the main of Norfolk Bronze Turkey with trimmings was very filling! For sweet tooth’s like me there was a pre dessert of unbelievably tasty clementine chocolate. This was followed by Mont Blanc with a super twist on meringue.

Coffee and petits fours ended the evening.

This was not a cheap evening at £60 per person, but for a special evening it was value for money. Everything was delicious and beautifully presented.

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank Cumpston
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2019 via mobile

We visited the kitchen during our Lakeland stay over half term. Having been before for lunch we decided to give their afternoon tea a try and we were overwhelmed by our experience.

As it turned out we were the very first family to try the new afternoon tea service and the staff could not have done more for us to ensure our experience was enjoyable. They were friendly and attentive and did everything we could to accommodate our group (ages 2-67)

The food was beautifully displayed on hand crafted, industrial stands and everything we ate was delicious. Of particular mention were the rare beef sandwiches and the scones. The menu was also perfectly balanced so you weren’t left with that overwhelming sugar slump that often ensues, post afternoon tea. The drinks were also of a very high quality, the baby cappuccino being a big hit with our 2 year old.

The decor is clean and bright, and modern yet still agreeable and homely. We will definitely be back soon.

Thanks to everyone at Levens for making our afternoon really special.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank Holmesyboy_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Levens Kitchen also viewed

 
Crook, Kendal
 

Been to Levens Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.