We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, enjoyable stay”

Summerhow Bed & Breskfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Summerhow Bed & Breskfast
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable, enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed 6 nights in September, giving us time to re-visit the Howgills and the Lakes. Perfect, delicious breakfasts, extremely comfortable beds and an excellent welcome from John & Janey.

Kendal is a great little town with plenty going on - especially at the Brewery Arts Centre, with its theatre, cinema and restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We booked Summerhow House on our way home from the Highlands of Scotland and had a absolutely lovely few days. John and Janey were really welcoming and couldn't do enough for us from tea and scones on arrival to very tasty 'look forward to' breakfasts we felt thoroughly spoiled from the moment we arrived. The house is very comfortable and the gardens beautiful and I would recommend everyone to stay here and enjoy such lovely hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikki_jp_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Decided to stay over in Kendal following a concert at the Brewery. Having had some bad experiences with noise in some hotels we decided to check out our favourite Alistair Sawday site and found Summerhow ! What a gem. We had a very warm welcome from John and Janey who recommended a great restaurant for the evening.The room was delightful - spotless,bright and beautifully decorated - Breakfast was excellent with great choices of fresh fruit, freshly squeezed juice, cereals, yoghurt and full English breakfast! Can't wait for an excuse to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

I didn't fancy going to a B&B as I prefer hotels (I thought I did before this experience!). Saw Summerhow House on Alistair Sawday's website on a Wednesday, was totally charmed by it, booked it, went on Saturday. The house is in beautiful grounds and is breathtaking inside. The house is elegantly furnished to a high standard and you can feel the history in the building.

It's ideally located for Kendal and access to the rest of The Lakes.

We just wish we had more time to enjoy it. It helped that we chose a weekend of perfect weather. On our final morning, we entered the dining room with a roaring open fire to take the morning chill off and enjoyed a freshly prepared fully cooked breakfast. John was delightful (we didn't meet Janey as she was away) and we will definately go back there.

We really enjoyed our stay and have already recommended to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HipHotelier01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Having been a regular visitor to Kendal over the years when performing for the Kendal Midday Concert Society, I suddenly found Summerhow on the internet and thought it looked rather special. I was not disappointed. The house is beautiful and the room that my friend and I stayed in was tastefully furnished and very comfortable. John and Janey (and the dachshunds) gave us a warm welcome and it was a pleasure to stay in their lovely home. I will be back and will be recommending it to everyone I know who might find themselves in the area and my friend says she will be doing likewise!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Musicandspaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed with John and Janey last weekend - very friendly, helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The room was very comfortable and had the feeling of staying with some very smart relatives! We were even asked if we wanted tea and scones in front of the fire on Saturday afternoon! The breakfasts were excellent too! High recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gp4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries and Galloway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We visited Kendal on the first weekend of October and had a good time for several reasons. Kendal is a lovely old town with numerous places to stay, and in the past we have been in quite a few. The best by far, is the Summerhow House B&B!!
The house, just outside Kendal, sits in its own grounds, surrounded by mature trees, standing sentinel for the tranquility of the delightful gardens. Inside, the rooms are exquisite and offer a level of luxury and comfort completely unexpected of a B&B. Indeed, the quality of the service and the attention to detail given by John and Janey, created for us an experience nothing short of sublime!
If your'e looking for somewhere special, then I would recommend you go to Summerhow House, it's a class act!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huntsman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1.9 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sonata Guest House
Sonata Guest House
#3 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhow Bed & Breskfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhow Bed & Breskfast

Property: Summerhow Bed & Breskfast
Address: Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerhow House is a fine, substantial country house of distinctive and unique character set in four acres of well maintained gardens and orchard. Sleep in beautifully decorated, comfortable, sunny Bedrooms with great views of the country by day and peace and quiet at night. Guests will be offered a traditional, hearty breakfast with locally sourced produce in the Dining Room or on the terrace, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summerhow Bed & Breskfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing