We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, in every way.”

Summerhow Bed & Breskfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Summerhow Bed & Breskfast
Reviewed 15 June 2010

If you are looking for a nicer, friendlier, more interesting place to stay in the Lake District then you may as well give up right now because our stay here couldn't have been any better. There is little to really add about the stunning countryside of the Lake District where Summerhow House is set, except that this is the perfect base to explore it from.

The house itself is run by John and Janey, who are extremely pleasant hosts and really went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. The house has recently been renovated and you can really tell, because everything just oozes quality. The breakfast was sensational (made from quality local produce) and the service second to none.

I've stayed in a couple of bed and breakfasts now, and none of the others even begin to compare to this. At the end of the weekend we were informed that we were the first guests to have stayed here. It is almost tempting to not tell anyone about this place, because as soon as word gets out about exactly how nice Summerhow House is, it will be booked up for a very long time to come...

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRL_Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

Our first trip to the UK and summerhow house couldn’t have provided a better welcome.
We were fortunate to arrive on a beautiful day in May, so after we were shown our room we could enjoy some afternoon tea with fudge on the terrace which provided an excellent view of the garden and the country side.
The next day we had an perfect start with a good breakfast in a wonderful room.
From arrival until departure the owners provided us with great service and privacy.
I don’t think any hotel will be able to come close to this. I would recommend this B&B without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhjkeizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We visited Summerhow as a birthday treat, and a treat it was!
You couldn't fault anything about the place, the beautiful old house, attention to detail, wonderful owners who couldn't be more accomodating!

Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouInYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

I was so pleased that my search for a decent hotel in Kendal was fruitless because we stumbled upon this five star B and B.
We arrived quite late on the friday evening for a 2 night stay and were welcomed into the glorious sitting room with tea, buscuits and fudge...quite delightful.!
Host and hostess were charming and great value in a superb location...we couldn't believe our luck...we will certainly be recommending to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redlexusNorthener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
1.0 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Underbarrow
47 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
3.9 mi away
Eagle & Child Inn
Eagle & Child Inn
#1 of 2 in Staveley
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhow Bed & Breskfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhow Bed & Breskfast

Address: Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kendal
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerhow House is a fine, substantial country house of distinctive and unique character set in four acres of well maintained gardens and orchard. Sleep in beautifully decorated, comfortable, sunny Bedrooms with great views of the country by day and peace and quiet at night. Guests will be offered a traditional, hearty breakfast with locally sourced produce in the Dining Room or on the terrace, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summerhow Bed & Breskfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing