We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous”

Summerhow Bed & Breskfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Summerhow Bed & Breskfast
cleethorpes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

We couldn't have hoped for nicer place to stay -- it was perfect -- Janey and John are most welcoming hosts and the house and garden are amazing. The room was really sweet and awoke in the morning with sheep grazing out of the window and a super breakfast awaiting downstairs --

don't pass this one by -- its a gem

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tingull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

You will not find a place as perfect, beautiful, and wonderful as Summerhow!! My husband and I stayed at Summerhow over a long summer weekend. We found Summerhow through American Express concierge and with rave reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to book a room. We were looking for a quintessential English getaway at an intimate B&B that was luxurious but not unaffordable. Summerhow was perfect.

From the beginning, our experience with Summerhow was friendly, smooth and professional. We did not want to fight the road traffic, so decided to take a train from Central London to Kendal. The house is only 5 minutes away from the station, so easy to take a taxi, but John graciously came and collected us. The house is set on beautiful grounds with a gorgous garden in front and breathtaking landscape surrounding the property. The house is recently renovated and everything from the dining area to the drawing room to our bedroom was impeccably decorated. When we entered the home, Janney was waiting with teas, biscuits, and chocolates --all which we happily devoured. Then, they showed us to our beautiful room overlooking the english countryside. It had an attached bathroom with an ultra-modern shower and a bed with the softest bedsheets. The decor was very pleasing to the eye and keeps the rustic charm while affording modern comfort.

Everything about Summerhow was done with an eye on detail, emphasizing countryside luxury. Perhaps what set this place above all other bed and breakfast places is the amazing hospitality of the owners. John and Janney grew up in the area and know so much about the town. They guided us with all our choices, and even got us last-minute reservations to Strickland Arms, a wonderful gastropub in the area. They shared with us a lot of the history of the town, pointed out historic sites which made the experience even more special.

We were probably more high maintenence guests than usual since we did not have a car. John was so accomodating -- every day, he dropped us off wherever we wanted to go, showing us sites along the way. All of this, they did with a smile. Thank you so much for a wonderful and unforgettable stay!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelPro9856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

If you are looking for a nicer, friendlier, more interesting place to stay in the Lake District then you may as well give up right now because our stay here couldn't have been any better. There is little to really add about the stunning countryside of the Lake District where Summerhow House is set, except that this is the perfect base to explore it from.

The house itself is run by John and Janey, who are extremely pleasant hosts and really went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. The house has recently been renovated and you can really tell, because everything just oozes quality. The breakfast was sensational (made from quality local produce) and the service second to none.

I've stayed in a couple of bed and breakfasts now, and none of the others even begin to compare to this. At the end of the weekend we were informed that we were the first guests to have stayed here. It is almost tempting to not tell anyone about this place, because as soon as word gets out about exactly how nice Summerhow House is, it will be booked up for a very long time to come...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRL_Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorthuizen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Our first trip to the UK and summerhow house couldn’t have provided a better welcome.
We were fortunate to arrive on a beautiful day in May, so after we were shown our room we could enjoy some afternoon tea with fudge on the terrace which provided an excellent view of the garden and the country side.
The next day we had an perfect start with a good breakfast in a wonderful room.
From arrival until departure the owners provided us with great service and privacy.
I don’t think any hotel will be able to come close to this. I would recommend this B&B without any hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhjkeizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

We visited Summerhow as a birthday treat, and a treat it was!
You couldn't fault anything about the place, the beautiful old house, attention to detail, wonderful owners who couldn't be more accomodating!

Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouInYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northener
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

I was so pleased that my search for a decent hotel in Kendal was fruitless because we stumbled upon this five star B and B.
We arrived quite late on the friday evening for a 2 night stay and were welcomed into the glorious sitting room with tea, buscuits and fudge...quite delightful.!
Host and hostess were charming and great value in a superb location...we couldn't believe our luck...we will certainly be recommending to our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redlexusNorthener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sonata Guest House
Sonata Guest House
#3 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhow Bed & Breskfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhow Bed & Breskfast

Property: Summerhow Bed & Breskfast
Address: Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerhow House is a fine, substantial country house of distinctive and unique character set in four acres of well maintained gardens and orchard. Sleep in beautifully decorated, comfortable, sunny Bedrooms with great views of the country by day and peace and quiet at night. Guests will be offered a traditional, hearty breakfast with locally sourced produce in the Dining Room or on the terrace, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summerhow Bed & Breskfast Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing