We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Excellent Place to stay”
Review of Fox Hall B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fox Hall B&B
Ranked #11 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 February 2013

A excellent place to stay for vegan people, the food is fresh and great, the menu is full of choice, set in a great location, the family that run it are warm and very welcoming, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. great value for money would recommend to any vegan person.

Room Tip: all the rooms are quiet, the ones on back over look the garden and the fields and the ones on the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn_garton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

If you are a vegan family looking for gorgeous countryside with mountain views, a large en suite family room to cater for two children, a first class cooked vegan breakfast, a belly busting 3 course vegan dinner, local to family farm activities, with hospitality so intimate that you feel part of the family, then I can recommend no other place to stay. Sylvia and Chris are simply bionic, given they have several children of their own whilst keeping their guests comfortable. My children , who play with their young children in the lounge area, always feel at home. With the wood burning fireplace in the dining area, and nature almost knocking at the dining room windows, you will find it hard to secure another peaceful spot place in the whole of Cumbria.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlEc777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Very friendly - and provided us with tea, sandwich and millionaire's shortbread - even though we were arrived late in the evening. Excellent breakfast, and they do lovely packed lunches too.

Very relaxed atmosphere, great bedroom room, and all round a comfortable place to be.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetulaPendula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

A vegan B&B is a rare thing and this should be the template for them all. Very friendly owners, lovely room, great views and good vegan food. Free wifi too. Lots of books and maps in the guest lounge. Recommended!

Room Tip: Snowdrop is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

A very friendly place, delicious food, every comfort and consideration. Chris had added a grab rail in shower by time of my second visit when I said it would be helpful. Have stayed for holiday with friend, as well as one night very often. A good supply of maps and interesting books.

Room Tip: All four rooms are good. If you need walk in shower choose Snowdrop room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The service was second to none from the hosts, providing tea and coffee on a late arrival. The rooms were well-fitted and very clean with a lovely en-suite and views onto the garden. There is a very relaxing guest lounge full of interesting books and comfy chairs, and a very welcoming family!

As for the food, I'm not a vegan, but the range of food on offer was a great selling point for veganism, and they seemed very flexible with the menu and recipes depending on available foods/personal preference.

The location is ideal for the Lakes, just outside kendal, but it is a little distance away from any public transport. That said, Oxenholme train station is only a 5 minute car journey away so a taxi shouldn't be too expensive at all. Most people drive to the lakes anyway, though, I would guess.

We were there at Easter weekend, and I doubt there are many more peaceful locations in the Lake District to be than Fox Hall B&B on such a busy weekend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisslogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I've stayed at Fox Hall B&B three times now, and fully intend to stay there many, many more times.

Sylvia and Chris, who run this lovely B&B, are just the most lovely and welcoming people. The rooms are immaculately clean, and comfortable, and the food, well that is just something else!

I usually stay in Snowdrop Room when I visit. It's a lovely room with a perfect en-suite bathroom with Faith in Nature vegan products. There is always a tea and coffee tray in the room with soy milk (or other non-dairy milk should you wish).

There is a lovely comfortable lounge area, and a really pretty dining room. When I arrived on my most recent visit, I had pre-ordered an evening meal and was welcomed by the wood burning stove burning merrily to welcome me 'home', which was just lovely after a day hiking in the hills.

The food at Fox Hall is something else. Not only is it a gastronomic delight for vegans, but Sylvia's home cooking can also cater for people with dietary allergies (like myself). It's really comforting to know I will be able to enjoy a magnificent filling breakfast, or evening meal, without fear of accidentally consuming animal products, or wheat (which would leave me pretty poorly). It really helps you to relax and enjoy your holiday.

Breakfast is always quite an event with so many choices on offer, and always delicious fresh brewed coffee. From the breakfast table you can enjoy your meal at your leisure whilst looking out across the green rolling countryside, and seeing the silly family of pheasants enjoying their breakfast too.

I really cannot recommend Fox Hall highly enough. It is a lovely place to take a break, and I always feel so, so welcomed and looked after. Kendal and Grange over Sands is only a short drive away, and 30 minutes will take you into the heart of the Lake District, where you can enjoy fabulous walking. Book a holiday here at once - you really don't know what you are missing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fadryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
3.4 mi away
Gilpin Bridge Inn, Levens
2.8 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Millers Beck
Millers Beck
#7 of 42 in Kendal
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,095 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
3.1 mi away
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Underbarrow
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hall B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hall B&B

Address: Prizet Stables | Helsington, Kendal LA8 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Fox Hall B&B Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing