We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, dog-friendly digs in the dales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Glen Guest House
Ranked #4 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed one night on the way down from Scotland to West Sussex and was made to feel very welcome by host Warren, who immediately presented us with a map of the local dog walk, which was close enough to see through our bedroom window and involved lovely views across the western dales near Kendal. It's also right next door to a great local pub called The Station Inn, which serves up a very good scampi and chips (among plenty of other staple pub favourites). Warren makes a full English to order in the morning, using excellent local produce. Would definitely go back for more.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

Found The Glen on the Internet while looking for dog friendly accomodation. Stopped overnight en route to Scotland from Bristol and were made most welcome. Room comfortable and well supplied with toilet goodies, loads of tea and coffee and even two wine glasses! (No wine alas!). Breakfast excellent., Very good gastro pub two mins. walk up t'hill. Liked it so much we booked in for our return trip, on 12 Nov.!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 977krm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Our large family room was clean and spacious. The big cooked breakfast was great. Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 695H_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Really enjoyed our stay. The room was lovely. It had been split into two areas. The bed area, and the lounge area. It was really cost with a sofa, tv, coffee table and sideboard for tea coffee etc. The en-suite was ample for us and had a nice powerful shower.

There is a lovely pub within walking distance as well as some good walks.

The breakfast was excellent- the best poached eggs I've ever had!!

To top it off, it was dog friendly. Hamish enjoyed his stay and is looking forward to his next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ali0511evs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Ideally located for our walking weekend. Only two minutes walk from mainline Oxenholme station in pleasant quiet surroundings. Service was very friendly. Tracy advised us on the best local walks. Organized a taxi for an evening in Kendal and recommended a number of restaurants.
We liked the fact that breakfast was cooked to order - eggs just how I like them, plus a good selection of fruit and cereal. All very tasty.
The room was a good size, nicely decorated and presented, with lots of extras, plus a jacuzzi bath. Also, speedy WI-FI was available free of charge.
Admittedly I am one for reading trip advisor, rather than making entries, but this little gem is one not to be missed. I would definitely recommend this guesthouse to my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tabbytatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Convenient B & B very close to Oxenholme station. Nice single room for £45 on Friday in mid December 2010. Clean, warm with good en suite facilities. Quiet.

Hotel WiFi broadband not routinely made available to guests.

Breakfast only served 8:30 - 9:00. Paid on arrival and asked for early breakfast. Told it would be left out but that I would have to make tea in my room and bring down. At 7:35 a table was laid and part of the dining room was lit. Choice of cereals, sliced bread, toaster, mini packs of butter, Flora, jam, honey and marmalade. The muesli, bread, orange and apple juice were all very ordinary.

Didn't see anyone until I was walking out at 8:10am. As it was snowing I would have liked to ask someone to check train delays on-line. I am sure they would have obliged if I had rung the bell, but that's not the same level of hospitality as being asked whether you need anything.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoldingWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
Thank forteforte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
1.4 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
3.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#6 of 13 in Kendal
448 reviews
2.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,096 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Guest House

Address: Oxenholme, Kendal LA9 7RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range: £78 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glen Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen is a family concern with an excellent reputation for friendly service and large freshly cooked breakfasts using local produce. It is situated on the outskirts of Kendal, in a quiet location in its own grounds under "The Helm" (local walk and view point of Kendal, the Lake District Mountains and Morecambe Bay), but within a 200 metres of country Inn and restaurant. All rooms are en suite, with most having bath and shower. For that special occasion we have, our Luxury suite with en suite Bathroom with shower and a double room with large en suite bathroom with Double Bath and separate walk-in shower. We have a large family/twin room with view of 'The Helm' plus a large ground floor suite with king size bed. All rooms have freeview TV with DVD. Outside, relax on our patio before taking an evening walk on 'The Helm' to watch the sunset over the Lakeland Mountains, then a drink or meal in our local Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Glen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glen Guest House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing